Apache Foundation EIN 41-6031039

Apache Foundation FY2021 filing

EIN  41-6031039 Private foundation / grantmaker Houston, TX
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Apache Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Houston, TX. It reported about $873K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$873K revenue, $906K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Houston, TX. It reported about $873K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $873K in revenue, $906K in expenses, and $3.1M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$873K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$906K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$33K
Total assets
3.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
279K
in FY2021
Grants made
59grants
total in period
Payout rate
9%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 59 grants · $307K · 2024–2024
Houston Wilderness INCTX · FY2024$37,002
Texas Longleaf Team Texas A&m Forest ServiceFY2024$21,200
City of HoustonFY2024$17,761
TreefolksFY2024$16,282
Harris County Precinct 3FY2024$14,801
Harris County Precinct 4FY2024$14,209
Scenic Texas INCTX · FY2024$10,657
Keep Midland Beautiful INCTX · FY2024$8,940
Nola Tree ProjectLA · FY2024$6,603
Keep Laredo Beautiful INCTX · FY2024$5,920
Crcl Coalition to Restsore Coastal LouisianaFY2024$5,920
City of AlpineFY2024$5,920
Big Lake DevelopmentFY2024$5,920
Tree New Mexico INCNM · FY2024$5,329
Pontchartrain ConservancyLA · FY2024$4,736
See all 59 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV20
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$37K
Top cause focusNTEEEnvironment (22%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$873K
FY2021
Expenses
$906K
FY2021
Total assets
$3.2M
FY2021
Total liabilities
$90K
FY2021
Total revenue
$873K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$906K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CApache Foundation
EINHdr · item D41-6031039
Principal addressHdr · item CHouston, TX
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTX
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T23)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 1964

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Apache Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$680K · 78%
Investment income$143K · 16%
Other revenue$51K · 6%
Contributions & grants78%$680K
Investment income16%$143K
Other revenue6%$51K
Total revenueLn 12$873K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.31 Operating & administrative $0.69
Grants & contributions paid31%$279K
Operating & administrative69%$628K
Total functional expensesLn 25$906K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$496K
Total assetsLn 16$3.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$90K
Total net assetsLn 32$3.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed6.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $873K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $873K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $873K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $873K · Expenses $906K
-4%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.1M · Total assets $3.2M
97%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $906K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$541K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$880K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$860K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$526K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$873K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.