Richard Seth Staley Educational Foundation EIN 95-3532336 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Richard Seth Staley Educational Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Phoenix, AZ. It reported about $739K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $739K in revenue, $953K in expenses, and $17.3M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Filings
5 on file (2021–2025)
Revenue
$739KFY2025
Expenses
$953K
Net assets
$17.3M
People
2
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  95-3532336 Private foundation / grantmaker Phoenix, AZ
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Richard Seth Staley Educational Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Phoenix, AZ. It reported about $739K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Kathleen Keltner · Director/President/Treasurer
Money in and out
$739K revenue, $953K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$739K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$953K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$17.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$214K
Total assets
17.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
617K
in FY2025
Grants made
47grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 47 grants · $617K · 2024–2024
Institute for Humane StudiesVA · FY2024$140,000
Uc Davis CollegeFY2024$36,362
Heritage FoundationFY2024$30,000
The Reason FoundationCA · FY2024$6,000
Cato InstituteDC · FY2024$6,000
University of Texas M D Anderson Cancer Center Services CorpFY2024$5,000
FreeFY2024$5,000
AzcdlFY2024$5,000
Young America FoundationFY2024$4,500
Teen Challenge of Southern CaliforniaFY2024$4,000
Hillsdale CollegeMI · FY2024$4,000
GofFY2024$4,000
Washington Policy CenterWA · FY2024$3,500
Turning Point USA INCIN · FY2024$3,000
Leadership InstituteFY2024$3,000
Grand Canyon University Scholarship FoundationFY2024$3,000
See all 47 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV20
Average grantPart XV$13K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$300K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (9%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$739K
FY2025▼ -14%
Expenses
$953K
FY2025▲ +7%
Total assets
$17.3M
FY2025▲ +2%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$739K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$953K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$17.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$17.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CRichard Seth Staley Educational Foundation
EINHdr · item D95-3532336
Principal addressHdr · item CPhoenix, AZ
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MAZ
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 1981

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
Director/President/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director/Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Richard Seth Staley Educational Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$661K · 89%
Other revenue$78K · 11%
Investment income89%$661K
Other revenue11%$78K
Total revenueLn 12$739K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.65 Operating & administrative $0.35
Grants & contributions paid65%$617K
Operating & administrative35%$336K
Total functional expensesLn 25$953K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$628K
Total assetsLn 16$17.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$17.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed7.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $17.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $739K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $739K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $739K · Prior year $858K
-14%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $1.6M · FY2024 $739K
-17%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $17.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $739K · Expenses $953K
-29%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $17.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $17.3M · Total assets $17.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kathleen Keltner · Reported title DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT/TREASURER · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $953K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -14%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$739K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$858K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$542K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$318K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.