Wards Foundation EIN 86-1600365

Wards Foundation

EIN  86-1600365 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Charlotte, NC
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Wards Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Improves lives by advancing rare disease support.
Leadership
Caroline Winslett · Executive Dir. · $52K
Money in and out
$420K revenue, $121K expenses
Bottom line
+71% surplus margin

Improves lives by advancing rare disease support. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $420K in revenue, $121K in expenses, and $1.0M in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2024
Total revenue
$420K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$121K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $299K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $4.21 Management & general $0.36 Fundraising $0.20
Surplus margin
+71%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +26% vs prior filing year
Donor-funded
113%
of revenue is gifts & grants▲ +93% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Revenue
$420K
FY2024▼ -19%
Expenses
$121K
FY2024▼ -46%
Total assets
$1.1M
FY2024▲ +26%
Total liabilities
$8K
FY2024▼ -96%
Total revenue
$420K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$121K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$299K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$1.1M
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B421%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 310
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 410
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $510K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Ward's Foundation is working to advance rare disease support. We aim to increase the awareness, education and prevention of rare disease. We aspire to walk alongside families in their rare disease journey by providing resources, guidance and support. We strive to improve the clinical, diagnostic and overall patient experience.

$510Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CWards Foundation
EINHdr · item D86-1600365
Principal addressHdr · item CCharlotte, NC
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.wardsfoundation.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFDiseases & Disorders (G12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2021

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a10
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b10
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2Yes

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Dir.
$51,923Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Caroline Winslett’s $52K as Executive Dir. is at the 37th percentile of top reported officer pay among 900 $100K–1M diseases & disorders nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

See Wards Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$474K · 113%
Investment income$52K · 12%
Contributions & grants113%$474K
Investment income12%$52K
Total revenueLn 12$420K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $4.21 Management & general $0.36 Fundraising $0.20
Program services421%$510K
Management & general36%$44K
Fundraising20%$25K
Total functional expensesLn 25$121K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$24K
Total assetsLn 16$1.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$8K
Total net assetsLn 32$1.0M
Months of cash on handcomputed2.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $1.4M · Operating expenses (Pt IX) $121K · Less non-cash grants $179K · Cash operating expenses/yr $-58K
Highly liquid reserves (cash & marketable securities on Pt X) ÷ monthly operating expenses (Pt IX total, less non-cash grants & depreciation when reported).
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $510K · Total expenses $578K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $44K · Total expenses $578K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $25K · Total expenses $578K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $13K · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $405K
$0.03 to raise $1 (3-yr avg)
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $474K · Total revenue $420K
113%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $420K
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $420K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $52K · Total revenue $420K
+12%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $121K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $420K · Prior year $521K
-19%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.0M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $420K · Expenses $121K
+71%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.1M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.0M · Total assets $1.1M
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $1.4M · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $1.1M
134%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Caroline Winslett · Reported title Executive Dir. · Highest reported compensation $52K · Total expenses $121K
43%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $133K · Total expenses $121K
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 421%
Overhead ratio 36%
Fundraising cost ratio 5%
Revenue growth -19%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 6%
Accounting fee ratio 0%
Fundraising fee ratio 0%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2024
See all 6 funders →
Grants paid · 2 grants · $351K · 2023–2024
Atrium Health FoundationNC · FY2024$198,090
Atrium Health FoundationNC · FY2023$152,894

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Wards Foundation →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$420K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$521K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$422K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$121K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.