National Sheep Improvement Program INC

EIN 74-2477116 Mutual-benefit / member-serving Englewood, CO
Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$281K
FY2025▲ +44%
Expenses
$280K
FY2025+0.5%

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 2025 (IRS tax year 2024).


Converts sheep performance records into valuable genetic information for industry decisions. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $281K in revenue, $280K in expenses, and $8K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Mutual-benefit / member-serving · Nonprofit
Location
Englewood, CO
Website
nsip.org
Filings
5 on file (2021–2025)
Revenue
$281KFY2025
Expenses
$280K
Net assets
$8K
People
13
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until National Sheep Improvement Program INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Converts sheep performance records into valuable genetic information for industry decisions.
Leadership
Russell Burgett Thru 53124 · Executive Di · $24K
Money in and out
$281K revenue, $280K expenses
Bottom line
+0.4% surplus margin

What Funders Ask

From IRS filings

Tax-deductible?

warning No

Per the IRS master file. Details →

Can I give now?

good No revocation on IRS record

Not on the IRS revocation list. Details →

Filing up to date?

good Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)

Details →

Spent on programs?

critical 0% to programs

Form 990 Part IX, latest filing. Details →

Size and trend

$100K–1M

↑ +44% vs prior year Details →

Not in filings yet: foundation funders

Reported financial activity · FY2025
Total revenue
$281K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$280K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$8K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $992
Surplus margin
+0.4%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +101% vs prior filing year

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like National Sheep Improvement Program INC →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Total assets
$76K
FY2025▼ -5%
Total liabilities
$68K
FY2025▼ -7%
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$992
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$76K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 310
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 410

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CNational Sheep Improvement Program INC
EINHdr · item D74-2477116
Principal addressHdr · item CEnglewood, CO
WebsiteHdr · item Jnsip.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCO
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 1988

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a10
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b10
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
$23,592Pt VII · Sec A
$20,673Pt VII · Sec A
2nd Vice Cha
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Past Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Russell Burgett—$58,595$55,620$54,000$54,000
Russell Burgett Thru 53124$23,592————
David Scales Start 7124$20,673————

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See National Sheep Improvement Program INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

By using breeding stock with genetic predictability, all types of flocks have a foundation of genetic information upon which to build a superior and more consistent product to their customers, whether this be a feeder, packer or consumer. This genetic predictability is achievable through nsips estimated breeding values (ebvs).

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue$257K · 91%
Contributions & grants$24K · 9%
Program service revenue91%$257K
Contributions & grants9%$24K
— government grantsLn 1e$24K
Total revenueLn 12$281K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$33K
Total assetsLn 16$76K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$68K
Total net assetsLn 32$8K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $33K · Operating expenses/yr $280K
1.4 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $280K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $280K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $280K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $20K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $24K · Total revenue $281K
9%
Government reliance
Government grants $24K · Total revenue $281K
9%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $257K · Total revenue $281K
91%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $281K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $257K · Total expenses $280K
92%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $281K · Prior year $196K
+44%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $204K · FY2024 $281K
+8%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $8K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $281K · Expenses $280K
+0.4%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $76K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $8K · Total assets $76K
11%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $76K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Russell Burgett Thru 53124 · Reported title EXECUTIVE DI · Highest reported compensation $24K · Total expenses $280K
8%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $50K · Total expenses $280K
18%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——
Revenue growth 44%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$281K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$196K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$280K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$227K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$204K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.