National Sheep Improvement Program INC FY2021 filing

Not tax-deductible

Englewood, CO501(c)(5)EIN 74-2477116

To provide predictable, economically important genetic evaluation information to the american sheep industry by converting performance records into relevant decision-making tools.

$54K paid to officers and key staff.
Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1 · Pay: Part VII

Before you give

FY2021 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
IRS status
501(c)(5)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Tax-deductible gifts
No
Donations are not tax-deductible
Worth a look: the IRS does not list gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Latest return
FY2025
latest Form 990
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2025, 1 tax year back; within 2 tax years.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Surplus or deficit
4 of 5
filings with a surplus
Average deficit $4K a year · 2% of revenue · last 5 filings
Fine: a surplus in 4 of the last 5 filings.
Pt I · Ln 19 · 5 filings
Spent on programs
0%
of spending
Concern: 0% of spending went to programs; under 50%.
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
Pay to officers and key staff
$54K
to officers and key staff · 30% of spending
Worth a look: pay to officers and key staff is 30% of spending; over 20%.
Pt VII · Sec A
Cash reserves
3 mo
of spending, in cash
Looks good: 3.2 months of spending in cash; 3 or more.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Liabilities
$14K
20% of total assets
Looks good: liabilities are 20% of assets; 50% or less.
Pt X · Ln 26
Independent board members
9
of 9 voting members
Looks good: 9 of 9 voting members are independent, a majority.
Pt VI · Ln 1a–1b
Looks goodFineWorth a lookConcernNo data yetTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$204K
Spent
$179K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$55K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$204K
FY2021
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$204K
FY2022$227K
FY2023$280K
FY2024$196K
FY2025$281K
Expenses
$179K
FY2021
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$179K
FY2022$197K
FY2023$274K
FY2024$279K
FY2025$280K
Net assets
$55K
FY2021
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$55K
FY2022$85K
FY2023$91K
FY2024$7K
FY2025$8K

From the FY2021 Form 990 (year ending September 2021) · see the original

Give Claim
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2025 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CNational Sheep Improvement Program INC
EINHdr · item D74-2477116
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 1988
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CEnglewood, CO
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
WebsiteHdr · item Jnsip.org

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
+12%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990
Total assets
$69K
FY2021
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$69K
FY2022$120K
FY2023$127K
FY2024$80K
FY2025$76K
Total liabilities
$14K
FY2021
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$14K
FY2022$35K
FY2023$37K
FY2024$73K
FY2025$68K
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$25K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$69K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 39
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 49

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$48K
Total assetsLn 16$69K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$14K
Total net assetsLn 32$55K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.2

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue$200K · 98%
Contributions & grants$4K · 2%
Program service revenue98%$200K
Contributions & grants2%$4K
Total revenueLn 12$204K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $48K · Operating expenses/yr $179K
3.2 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $179K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $179K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $179K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $4K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $4K · Total revenue $204K
2%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $204K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $200K · Total revenue $204K
98%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $204K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $200K · Total expenses $179K
112%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $204K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $55K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $204K · Expenses $179K
+12%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $69K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $55K · Total assets $69K
80%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $69K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Russell Burgett · Reported title EXECUTIVE DI · Highest reported compensation $54K · Total expenses $179K
30%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $54K · Total expenses $179K
30%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2020); the FY2021 filing did not itemize Part VII
Executive Di
$54,000Pt VII · Sec A
1st Vice Cha
$0Pt VII · Sec A
2nd Vice Cha
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Russell Burgett—$58,595$55,620$54,000$54,000
Russell Burgett Thru 53124$23,592————
David Scales Start 7124$20,673————

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See National Sheep Improvement Program INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 9Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 9Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Converts sheep performance records into valuable genetic information for industry decisions.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until National Sheep Improvement Program INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

By using breeding stock with genetic predictability, all types of flocks have a foundation of genetic information upon which to build a superior and more consistent product to their customers, whether this be a feeder, packer or consumer. This genetic predictability is achievable through nsips estimated breeding values (ebvs).

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $281K$280K+44% 990 PDF
FY2024 $196K$279K-30% 990 PDF
FY2023 $280K$274K+23% 990 PDF
FY2022 $227K$197K+11% 990 PDF
FY2021 Viewing $204K$179K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Full filing: Form 990 for FY2021

Every line we hold from the return, cited to its Part and line.
Part IX · Statement of functional expenses $179,335 across 6 lines filed
IX-5 Pay of current officers, directors and key staff$54,000
IX-11g Other fees for services$3,500
IX-13 Office expenses$671
IX-23 Insurance$5,679
IX-24 Other expenses (24a–d)$115,475
IX-24e All other expenses$10
IX-25 Total functional expensesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$179,335

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like National Sheep Improvement Program INC →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.