Libraries Without Borders EIN 68-0666319

Libraries Without Borders FY2021 filing

EIN  68-0666319 Public charity (501(c)(3)) New York, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Libraries Without Borders claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
Brings knowledge and information to underserved communities in the US and Puerto Rico.
Leadership
Aaron Greenberg · Executive Director · $105K
Money in and out
$1.3M revenue, $1.1M expenses
Bottom line
+9% surplus margin

Brings knowledge and information to underserved communities in the US and Puerto Rico. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $1.3M in revenue, $1.1M in expenses, and $293K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2021
Total revenue
$1.3M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.1M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$293K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $113K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.80 Management & general $0.19 Fundraising $0.04
Surplus margin
+9%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.3M
FY2021▲ +57%
Expenses
$1.1M
FY2021▲ +37%
Total assets
$313K
FY2021▲ +70%
Total liabilities
$205K
FY2021▲ +527%
Total revenue
$1.3M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.1M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$293K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$113K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$313K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B80%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 313
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 413
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $755K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2021.
01

Wash and learn initiative (wali)-thanks to generous support from the institute of museum and library services (imls), we were able to create the "wash and learn community toolkit," step-by-step guide for libraries and community based organizations interested in turning neighborhood laundromats into pop-up libraries and learning…

$376Kprogram expense
02

Puerto rico-thanks to support from us IGNITE/ the national science foundation, we were able to launch "de puente a puente" (from bridge to bridge), a health and digital literacy program in loza, puerto rico.

$248Kprogram expense
03

Manufactured housing-since 2019 we have partnered with resident owned communities usa (roc usa) to bring the 21ST century library and its resources directly to manufactured housing residents in suburban and rural minnesota by transforming public spaces -like storm shelters- into digitally equipped learning centers.

$131Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CLibraries Without Borders
EINHdr · item D68-0666319
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.librarieswithoutborders.us
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B19)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2023

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a13
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b13
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2Yes

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$105,000Pt VII · Sec A
Deputy Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Deputy Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Co-Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Co-Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Nina Safane’s $125K as Executive Director is at the 49th percentile of top reported officer pay among 3393 $1–10M education nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 4 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Nina Safane$124,855
Aaron Greenberg$116,552$105,000
Nina Safane COO Until May$111,170
Aaron Greenburg$21,945

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Libraries Without Borders executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants113%$1.4M
Program service revenue$4K
Investment income$28
— government grantsLn 1e$580K
Total revenueLn 12$1.3M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.80 Management & general $0.19 Fundraising $0.04
Program services80%$917K
Management & general19%$222K
Fundraising4%$45K
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.1M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$315K
Total assetsLn 16$313K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$205K
Total net assetsLn 32$293K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $313K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.3M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.3M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.3M · Prior year $798K
+57%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $293K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.3M · Expenses $1.1M
+9%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $313K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $293K · Total assets $313K
94%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Aaron Greenberg · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $105K · Total expenses $1.1M
9%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 80%
Overhead ratio 19%
Fundraising cost ratio 3%
Revenue growth 57%
Legal fee ratio 0%
Accounting fee ratio 1%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
See all 8 funders →

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Libraries Without Borders →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.7M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$680K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.3M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$798K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.