Oster Foundation EIN 47-2226624

Oster Foundation

EIN  47-2226624 Private foundation / grantmaker Brooklyn, NY
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Oster Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Brooklyn, NY. It reported about $86K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Victor Ostreicher · Trustee
Money in and out
$86K revenue, $91K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Brooklyn, NY. It reported about $86K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $86K in revenue, $91K in expenses, and $143K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$86K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$91K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$143K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$6K
Total assets
143K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
73K
in FY2024
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
51%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $73K · 2024–2024
Belz InstitutionsFY2024$29,156
Bnos Malke BelzNY · FY2024$13,325
Bnos JerusalemFY2024$11,648
Yeshiva Machzikel Hadas BelzFY2024$4,012
Yeshiva Chasan SoferFY2024$3,850
Yeshiva BelzFY2024$3,250
Bais Tzipora Girls SchoolFY2024$2,320
Various CharitiesFY2024$2,267
Ohr HatzofanFY2024$1,542
Pledger Charitable LtdNY · FY2024$1,200
SoulwordsorgFY2024$446
Rav ChesedFY2024$173
Bonei Olam INCNY · FY2024$128
Mikvah USA INCNY · FY2024$90
Zichron ShlomeFY2024$10

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV4
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$29K
Top cause focusNTEEReligion (13%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$86K
FY2024▲ +660%
Expenses
$91K
FY2024▼ -43%
Total assets
$143K
FY2024▼ -4%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$86K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$91K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$143K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$143K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item COster Foundation
EINHdr · item D47-2226624
Principal addressHdr · item CBrooklyn, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 2015

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Oster Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$86K
Investment income$7
Total revenueLn 12$86K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.80 Operating & administrative $0.20
Grants & contributions paid80%$73K
Operating & administrative20%$18K
Total functional expensesLn 25$91K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$116K
Total assetsLn 16$143K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$143K
Months of cash on handcomputed15.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $143K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $86K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $86K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $86K · Prior year $11K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $298K · FY2024 $86K
-27%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $143K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $86K · Expenses $91K
-7%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $143K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $143K · Total assets $143K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Victor Ostreicher · Reported title Trustee · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $91K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 660%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$86K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$11K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$14K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$298K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.