The Guston Foundation EIN 46-1575176 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

The Guston Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in West Hurley, NY. It reported about $3.4M in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $3.4M in revenue, $1.5M in expenses, and $61.8M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
West Hurley, NY
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$3.4MFY2025
Expenses
$1.5M
Net assets
$61.8M
People
7
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  46-1575176 Private foundation / grantmaker West Hurley, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Guston Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in West Hurley, NY. It reported about $3.4M in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Sarah Radic · Executive Director · $212K
Money in and out
$3.4M revenue, $1.5M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$3.4M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.5M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$61.8M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $1.9M
Total assets
61.8M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
45K
in FY2025
Grants made
13grants
total in period
Payout rate
0%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 13 grants · $45K · 2025–2025
Woodstock Byrdcliffe GuildFY2025$10,000
Doctors Without BordersFY2025$10,000
Woodstock Film FestivalFY2025$5,000
Maverick ConcertsFY2025$5,000
World Food ProgramFY2025$2,500
Urban Rural ActionFY2025$2,500
Union of Concerned Scientists INCFY2025$2,500
Amnesty International USAFY2025$2,500
Clark Art InstituteFY2025$1,500
Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art Foundation INCFY2025$1,000
Friends of the AcademyFY2025$1,000
Amon Carter Museum of American ArtFY2025$1,000
Williamstown Historical Museum INCFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$10K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$3.4M
FY2025▲ +82%
Expenses
$1.5M
FY2025▲ +7%
Total assets
$61.8M
FY2025▲ +5%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$3.4M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.5M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$61.8M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$61.8M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Guston Foundation
EINHdr · item D46-1575176
Principal addressHdr · item CWest Hurley, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T23)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 2013

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$211,647Pt VII · Sec A
$5,000Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director, President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director, Vice President, Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024
Sarah Radic$211,647$194,454
Michael Conforti$5,000$5,000
Maurice M Reder$5,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See The Guston Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$3.4M
Other revenue$758
Total revenueLn 12$3.4M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.03 Operating & administrative $0.97
Grants & contributions paid3%$45K
Operating & administrative97%$1.5M
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.5M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.0M
Total assetsLn 16$61.8M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$61.8M
Months of cash on handcomputed8.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $61.8M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $3.4M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $3.4M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $3.4M · Prior year $1.9M
+82%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $1.8M · FY2025 $3.4M
+13%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $61.8M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $3.4M · Expenses $1.5M
+56%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $61.8M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $61.8M · Total assets $61.8M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Sarah Radic · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $212K · Total expenses $1.5M
14%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 82%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$3.4M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$1.9M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$244K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$952K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.