Hale Foundation EIN 36-4321543

Hale Foundation

EIN  36-4321543 Private foundation / grantmaker Barrington, IL
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Hale Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Barrington, IL. It reported about $166K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Ruth Weiler · President
Money in and out
$166K revenue, $124K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Barrington, IL. It reported about $166K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $166K in revenue, $124K in expenses, and $651K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$166K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$124K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$651K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $42K
Total assets
651K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
96K
in FY2025
Grants made
55grants
total in period
Payout rate
15%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 55 grants · $96K · 2025–2025
Doctors Without BordersFY2025$5,500
Feeding AmericaIL · FY2025$5,000
The Carter Center INCGA · FY2025$5,000
Planned Parenthood FederationFY2025$4,000
Intl Rescue CommitteeFY2025$3,000
Feed the Children INCOK · FY2025$3,000
AlightFY2025$3,000
Ronald McDonald House CharitiesFY2025$2,500
Northern Il Food BkFY2025$2,500
WgcuFY2025$2,000
WbezFY2025$2,000
Save the ChildrenFY2025$2,000
Reading Is FundamentalFY2025$2,000
Project HopeFY2025$2,000
Partners in HealthME · FY2025$2,000
OxfamFY2025$2,000
See all 55 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV21
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$6K
Top cause focusNTEEInternational (13%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$166K
FY2025▲ +400%
Expenses
$124K
FY2025▲ +6%
Total assets
$651K
FY2025▲ +7%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$166K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$124K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$651K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$651K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHale Foundation
EINHdr · item D36-4321543
Principal addressHdr · item CBarrington, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2000

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Hale Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$166K
Total revenueLn 12$166K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.77 Operating & administrative $0.23
Grants & contributions paid77%$96K
Operating & administrative23%$28K
Total functional expensesLn 25$124K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$41K
Total assetsLn 16$651K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$651K
Months of cash on handcomputed4.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $651K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $166K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $166K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $166K · Prior year $33K
+400%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $28K · FY2025 $166K
+43%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $651K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $166K · Expenses $124K
+25%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $651K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $651K · Total assets $651K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ruth Weiler · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $124K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 400%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$166K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$33K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$131K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$129K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$230K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$28K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.