M & E Friedman Charitable Foundation EIN 20-8863647

M & E Friedman Charitable Foundation FY2024 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Brooklyn, NY. It reported about $54K in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $54K in revenue, $133K in expenses, and $4K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Filings
5 on file (2021–2024)
Revenue
$54KFY2024
Expenses
$133K
Net assets
$4K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  20-8863647 Private foundation / grantmaker Brooklyn, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until M & E Friedman Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Brooklyn, NY. It reported about $54K in revenue for 2023.
Money in and out
$54K revenue, $133K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$54K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$133K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$79K
Total assets
80K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
132K
in FY2024
Grants made
13grants
total in period
Payout rate
166%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 13 grants · $211K · 2025–2025
Koilel Shema InstituteFY2025$105,000
Elef HamugienFY2025$45,000
Ojc FundFY2025$10,000
Misc Donations to Other Approved ChFY2025$9,517
Congregagtion RachmistrivkaFY2025$9,000
Yeshivas Orchas ChaimFY2025$6,400
Aderes Bais YaakovFY2025$6,000
Cheder MenachemFY2025$5,000
American Friends of Jerusalem InstiFY2025$3,600
Yeshivah Gedolah Keren HatorahFY2025$3,000
Congregation Ani Maamin Bnos ChomesFY2025$3,000
Bais Yaakov High School LakewoodFY2025$3,000
Bnos Yaakov Elementary SchoolFY2025$2,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$16K
Median grantPart XV$6K
Largest grantPart XV$105K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$54K
FY2024▲ +18%
Expenses
$133K
FY2024▲ +108%
Total assets
$80K
FY2024▼ -4%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$54K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$133K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$80K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CM & E Friedman Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D20-8863647
Principal addressHdr · item CBrooklyn, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 2009

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See M & E Friedman Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$50K · 92%
Investment income$4K · 8%
Contributions & grants92%$50K
Investment income8%$4K
Total revenueLn 12$54K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.99 Operating & administrative $0.01
Grants & contributions paid99%$132K
Operating & administrative1%$975
Total functional expensesLn 25$133K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$76K
Total assetsLn 16$80K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$4K
Months of cash on handcomputed6.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $80K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $54K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $54K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $54K · Prior year $46K
+18%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $54K · Expenses $133K
-146%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $80K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4K · Total assets $80K
5%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $133K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 18%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025$87K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$54K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$46K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$32K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$94K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.