The Deeds Foundation EIN 13-3752427

The Deeds Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in New York, NY. It reported about $956K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $956K in revenue, $650K in expenses, and $4.6M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
New York, NY
Filings
7 on file (2019–2025)
Revenue
$956KFY2025
Expenses
$650K
Net assets
$4.6M
People
3
Filings
7
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  13-3752427 Private foundation / grantmaker New York, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Deeds Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in New York, NY. It reported about $956K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Laura S Bennett · President; Director
Money in and out
$956K revenue, $650K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$956K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$650K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.6M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $306K
Total assets
4.6M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
459K
in FY2025
Grants made
41grants
total in period
Payout rate
10%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 41 grants · $459K · 2025–2025
The Morgan Library & MuseumFY2025$65,000
AmericaresFY2025$50,000
Master Drawings AssociationFY2025$33,000
American Federation for Aging ResearchFY2025$30,000
Scan Harbor New YorkFY2025$28,000
New York City BalletFY2025$25,000
Catholic Charities Archdiocese of NyFY2025$20,000
Cornelia Connelly CenterFY2025$15,000
City HarvestFY2025$15,000
Holy Apostles Soup KitchenFY2025$12,000
Food Bank for New York CityFY2025$12,000
Common Pantry of New YorkFY2025$12,000
Ronald McDonald HouseFY2025$10,000
Lee Pesky Learning CenterFY2025$10,000
The Frick CollectionFY2025$7,500
Carnegie Hall SocietyFY2025$7,500
Storefront AcademyFY2025$7,000
The Metropolitan OperaFY2025$6,500
See all 41 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$11K
Median grantPart XV$6K
Largest grantPart XV$65K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$956K
FY2025▲ +86%
Expenses
$650K
FY2025▲ +38%
Total assets
$4.6M
FY2025▲ +7%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$956K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$650K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.6M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$4.6M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Deeds Foundation
EINHdr · item D13-3752427
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1994

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President; Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President; Secretary; Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer; Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See The Deeds Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$829K · 87%
Contributions & grants$127K · 13%
Investment income87%$829K
Contributions & grants13%$127K
Total revenueLn 12$956K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.71 Operating & administrative $0.29
Grants & contributions paid71%$459K
Operating & administrative29%$191K
Total functional expensesLn 25$650K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$903K
Total assetsLn 16$4.6M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$4.6M
Months of cash on handcomputed16.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.6M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $956K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $956K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $956K · Prior year $513K
+86%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $702K · FY2025 $956K
+5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.6M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $956K · Expenses $650K
+32%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.6M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.6M · Total assets $4.6M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Laura S Bennett · Reported title PRESIDENT; DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $650K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 86%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$956K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$513K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$225K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$551K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$679K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$495K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2019$702K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.