Jmf Charitable Foundation EIN 11-3602012

Jmf Charitable Foundation FY2021 filing

EIN  11-3602012 Private foundation / grantmaker Brooklyn, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Jmf Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Brooklyn, NY. It reported about $28K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$28K revenue, $23K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Brooklyn, NY. It reported about $28K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $28K in revenue, $23K in expenses, and $148K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$28K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$23K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$148K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $5K
Total assets
148K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
23K
in FY2021
Grants made
6grants
total in period
Payout rate
15%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 6 grants · $83K · 2025–2025
Koile Shema InstituteFY2025$41,500
Congregation Binyan ChaimFY2025$15,000
Ojc FundFY2025$14,000
Misc Exempt Operating FoundationFY2025$7,575
ToreimFY2025$2,500
Young Israel Bal HarbourFY2025$2,390

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$14K
Median grantPart XV$14K
Largest grantPart XV$42K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$28K
FY2021
Expenses
$23K
FY2021
Total assets
$148K
FY2021
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total revenue
$28K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$23K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$148K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$148K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CJmf Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D11-3602012
Principal addressHdr · item CBrooklyn, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2002

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Jmf Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$23K · 83%
Investment income$5K · 17%
Contributions & grants83%$23K
Investment income17%$5K
Total revenueLn 12$28K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $1.00
Grants & contributions paid100%$23K
Total functional expensesLn 25$23K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$664
Total assetsLn 16$148K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$148K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $148K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $28K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $28K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $28K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $148K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $28K · Expenses $23K
+18%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $148K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $148K · Total assets $148K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $23K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025$122K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$29K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$46K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$34K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$28K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.