Kelsey Trust EIN 04-6609917

Kelsey Trust

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Lincoln, MA. It reported about $234K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $234K in revenue, $273K in expenses, and $3.8M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Lincoln, MA
Filings
5 on file (2021–2025)
Revenue
$234KFY2025
Expenses
$273K
Net assets
$3.8M
People
2
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  04-6609917 Private foundation / grantmaker Lincoln, MA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Kelsey Trust claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Lincoln, MA. It reported about $234K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Paula D Johnson · Trustee - as Required
Money in and out
$234K revenue, $273K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$234K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$273K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.8M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$39K
Total assets
3.8M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
224K
in FY2025
Grants made
30grants
total in period
Payout rate
6%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 30 grants · $224K · 2024–2024
Planned Parenthood of Northern New EnglandFY2024$12,500
Vermont Community FoundationVT · FY2024$10,000
Shelburne FarmsVT · FY2024$10,000
Planned Parenthood of the North Country Ny INCFY2024$10,000
Spectrum Youth & Family Services INCFY2024$10,000
Addison County Community Action Group INC DBA HopeFY2024$10,000
Stern Center for Languard & LearningFY2024$8,000
Prevent Child Abuse-VermontVT · FY2024$8,000
Greater Burlington YMCA Foundation INC (6663-S01)FY2024$8,000
Intervale Center INCVT · FY2024$7,500
See all 30 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV20
Average grantPart XV$7K
Median grantPart XV$8K
Largest grantPart XV$12K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (17%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$234K
FY2025▼ -51%
Expenses
$273K
FY2025▲ +2%
Total assets
$3.8M
FY2025▼ -1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$234K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$273K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.8M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.8M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CKelsey Trust
EINHdr · item D04-6609917
Principal addressHdr · item CLincoln, MA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1989

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
Trustee - as Required
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee - as Required
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Kelsey Trust executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$218K · 93%
Contributions & grants$16K · 7%
Investment income93%$218K
Contributions & grants7%$16K
Total revenueLn 12$234K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.82 Operating & administrative $0.18
Grants & contributions paid82%$224K
Operating & administrative18%$50K
Total functional expensesLn 25$273K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$95K
Total assetsLn 16$3.8M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.8M
Months of cash on handcomputed4.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.8M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $234K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $234K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $234K · Prior year $480K
-51%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $269K · FY2024 $234K
-3%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.8M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $234K · Expenses $273K
-17%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.8M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.8M · Total assets $3.8M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Paula D Johnson · Reported title TRUSTEE - As required · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $273K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -51%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$234K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$480K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$241K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$140K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$269K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.