Murdy Foundation EIN 95-6082270

Murdy Foundation

EIN  95-6082270 Private foundation / grantmaker Santa Ana, CA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Murdy Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Santa Ana, CA. It reported about $361K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Norma Patton · President
Money in and out
$361K revenue, $232K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Santa Ana, CA. It reported about $361K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $361K in revenue, $232K in expenses, and $3.7M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$361K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$232K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $129K
Total assets
3.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
165K
in FY2025
Grants made
39grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 39 grants · $165K · 2025–2025
Tustin Presbyterian ChurchFY2025$50,000
Presbyterian Church (usa)FY2025$10,000
Oc School of the Arts FoundationFY2025$10,000
Tustin Area Council for Fine ArtsFY2025$10,000
Meistersingers INCFY2025$5,000
Moraga Community FoundationFY2025$5,000
National Alliance on Mental IllnessFY2025$5,000
Hillsdale CollegeFY2025$5,000
World Center KitchenFY2025$5,000
Laurel House (hope Harbor)FY2025$4,500
Orange County Rescue MissionFY2025$4,500
Jardin De Amor SchoolFY2025$4,000
Brainerd Baptist ChurchFY2025$3,000
International Refugee Assistance ProjectFY2025$3,000
Oakland Technical High School Boys VolleyballFY2025$3,000
Stand to ReasonFY2025$2,500
Ligonier MinistriesFY2025$2,500
The Foundation for Peripheral NeuropathyFY2025$2,500
See all 39 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$50K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$361K
FY2025▼ -71%
Expenses
$232K
FY20250%
Total assets
$3.7M
FY2025▲ +4%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$361K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$232K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.7M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMurdy Foundation
EINHdr · item D95-6082270
Principal addressHdr · item CSanta Ana, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1965

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Murdy Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$361K
Total revenueLn 12$361K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.71 Operating & administrative $0.29
Grants & contributions paid71%$165K
Operating & administrative29%$66K
Total functional expensesLn 25$232K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$92K
Total assetsLn 16$3.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed4.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $361K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $361K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $361K · Prior year $1.3M
-71%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $181K · FY2025 $361K
+15%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $361K · Expenses $232K
+36%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.7M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.7M · Total assets $3.7M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Norma Patton · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $232K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -71%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$361K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$280K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$74K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$143K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$181K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.