Bear Backers FY2023 filing

EIN 95-3389523 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Big Bear Lake, CA
Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2022–FY2024
Revenue
$62K
FY2023▲ +41%
Expenses
$59K
FY2023

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2023 (IRS tax year 2023).


A nonprofit based in Big Bear Lake, CA. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $62K in revenue, $59K in expenses, and $59K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Nonprofit
Location
Big Bear Lake, CA
Filings
3 on file (2022–2023)
Revenue
$62KFY2023
Expenses
$59K
Net assets
$59K
People
4
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Bear Backers claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A nonprofit based in Big Bear Lake, CA.
Leadership
Morgan Guffey · President
Money in and out
$62K revenue, $59K expenses
Bottom line
12.0mo operating runway

What Funders Ask

From IRS filings

Tax-deductible?

good Yes

Per the IRS master file. Details →

Can I give now?

good No revocation on IRS record

Not on the IRS revocation list. Details →

Filing up to date?

good Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)

Details →

Spent on programs?

critical 25% to programs

Form 990 Part IX, latest filing. Details →

Size and trend

<$100K

↑ +41% vs prior year Details →

Not in filings yet: foundation funders

Where the money goes · FY2023
Total revenue
$62K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$59K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$59K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $3K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.25
Operating runway
12.0mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
+5%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
22%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Bear Backers →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Total assets
$59K
FY2023
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$3K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$59K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B25%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CBear Backers
EINHdr · item D95-3389523
Principal addressHdr · item CBig Bear Lake, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFSep 1979

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Prsident
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Bear Backers executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$48K · 78%
Contributions & grants$14K · 22%
Other revenue78%$48K
Contributions & grants22%$14K
Total revenueLn 12$62K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.25
Program services25%$15K
Total functional expensesLn 25$59K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16$59K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$59K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $59K · Operating expenses/yr $59K
12.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $14K · Total revenue $62K
22%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $24K · Total revenue $62K
38%
Investment reliance
Investment income $17 · Total revenue $62K
+0.03%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $24K · Total expenses $59K
40%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $62K · Prior year $44K
+41%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $59K · Beginning of year $55K
+6%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $62K · Expenses $59K
+5%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $0 · Total assets $59K
0%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $59K · Total assets $59K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Morgan Guffey · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $59K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits — · Total expenses $59K
Form 990-EZ bundles compensation — not comparable to full-990 filers
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 25%——
Revenue growth 41%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$53K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$44K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$45K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.