United Steelworkers FY2021 filing

Los Banos, CA · Mutual-benefit / member-serving

! Not tax-deductible
Revenue
$126K
-5% vs prior year
Net assets
$158K
By yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$126K
FY2021▼ -5%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$133K
FY2021$126K
FY2022$151K
FY2023$154K
FY2024$361K
FY2025$237K
Expenses
—
FY2021
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020Not on file
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024$224K
FY2025$183K
Net assets
$158K
FY2021▲ +26%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$125K
FY2021$158K
FY2022$167K
FY2023$174K
FY2024$306K
FY2025$361K

From the FY2021 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CUnited Steelworkers
EINHdr · item D94-6078956
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1940
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-EZ
Principal addressHdr · item CLos Banos, CA
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
+25%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-EZ
Total assets
—
FY2021
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020Not on file
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024$306K
FY2025$361K
Total liabilities
—
FY2021
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020Not on file
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19—
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16—
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B—
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16—
Total liabilitiesLn 26—
Total net assetsLn 32$158K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$126K
Total revenueLn 12$126K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $156K · Operating expenses/yr $94K
19.9 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $126K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $126K
—
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $126K
—
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $94K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $126K · Prior year $133K
-5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $158K · Beginning of year $125K
+26%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $126K · Expenses $94K
+25%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $158K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $158K · Total assets $158K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Chad Jackson · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $11K · Total expenses $94K
12%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $71K · Total expenses $94K
76%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -5%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$10,917Pt VII · Sec A
$8,640Pt VII · Sec A
Recording Secretary
$4,187Pt VII · Sec A
Cheif Steward
$885Pt VII · Sec A
Financial Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 8 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Armando Martinez$18,698$16,305————
Jackson Chad$17,343$17,170————
Chad Jackson——$15,210$16,294$10,917$6,410
Armando Martinez——$12,494$10,236$8,640$3,849
Steve Bankes——$2,884$11,595—$1,162
Larry Kneppel———$10,972——
Chris Allen——$10,808$2,701$4,187$2,190
Shane Rawlins$9,193$10,383—$5,223——

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See United Steelworkers executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

Advocates for workers, enforcing agreements to improve conditions and provide representation.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until United Steelworkers claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $237K$183K-34% 990 PDF
FY2024 $361K$224K+134% 990 PDF
FY2023 $154K—+2% 990 PDF
FY2022 $151K—+20% 990 PDF
FY2021 Viewing $126K—-5% 990 PDF
FY2020 $133K— 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like United Steelworkers →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.