The Handlery Foundation EIN 94-3302912

The Handlery Foundation

EIN  94-3302912 Private foundation / grantmaker San Francisco, CA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Handlery Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in San Francisco, CA. It reported about $353K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
John W Handlery · Trustee · $2K
Money in and out
$353K revenue, $307K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in San Francisco, CA. It reported about $353K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $353K in revenue, $307K in expenses, and $6.3M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$353K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$307K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $46K
Total assets
6.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
246K
in FY2025
Grants made
25grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 25 grants · $246K · 2025–2025
Blood Cancer UnitedFY2025$20,608
California Hotel & Lodging Association Hospitality FoundationFY2025$20,367
Direct ReliefFY2025$20,000
The Salvation ArmyFY2025$15,749
University of San FranciscoFY2025$15,307
The Campanile Foundation (san Diego State University)FY2025$15,307
Cal State East Bay Educational Foundation INCFY2025$15,307
Cal Poly Pomona Philanthropic FoundationFY2025$15,307
Santa Clara UniversityFY2025$15,307
Tipping Point CommunityFY2025$15,000
The University Corporation San Francisco StateFY2025$12,500
St Anthony FoundationFY2025$10,000
American Hotel & Lodging Education FoundationFY2025$10,000
Tenderloin Museum (uptown Tenderloin Inc)FY2025$5,000
SfmadeFY2025$5,000
Planned Parenthood of Northern CaliforniaFY2025$5,000
Pasadena HumaneFY2025$5,000
Ok Program of OaklandFY2025$5,000
See all 25 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$10K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$21K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$353K
FY2025▲ +3%
Expenses
$307K
FY2025▲ +5%
Total assets
$6.3M
FY2025▲ +9%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$353K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$307K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$6.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Handlery Foundation
EINHdr · item D94-3302912
Principal addressHdr · item CSan Francisco, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T30Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1998

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$1,500Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee
$1,500Pt VII · Sec A
$1,500Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
John W Handlery$1,500$1,000$500
Molly Dean$1,500$1,000$1,000
Ashley N Handlery$1,500$1,000$500

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See The Handlery Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$353K
Total revenueLn 12$353K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.80 Operating & administrative $0.20
Grants & contributions paid80%$246K
Operating & administrative20%$61K
Total functional expensesLn 25$307K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$501K
Total assetsLn 16$6.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$6.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed19.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $6.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $353K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $353K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $353K · Prior year $341K
+3%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $285K · FY2025 $353K
+4%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $6.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $353K · Expenses $307K
+13%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $6.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $6.3M · Total assets $6.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual John W Handlery · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $2K · Total expenses $307K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 3%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$353K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$341K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$166K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$160K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$241K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$285K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.