The Collins Foundation EIN 93-6021893 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

The Collins Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Portland, OR. It reported about $24.1M in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $24.1M in revenue, $15.4M in expenses, and $234.9M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Portland, OR
Website
www.collinsfoundation.org
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$24.1MFY2024
Expenses
$15.4M
Net assets
$234.9M
People
10
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  93-6021893 Private foundation / grantmaker Portland, OR
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Figures match the IRS filing checked 8/9/26 · see original: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Collins Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$10–100M
What they do
A private foundation based in Portland, OR. It reported about $24.1M in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Carol Cheney · Chief Executive Officer · $300K
Money in and out
$24.1M revenue, $15.4M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$24.1M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$15.4M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$234.9M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $8.8M
Total assets
234.9M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
10.8M
in FY2024
Grants made
209grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 209 grants · $10.8M · 2024–2024
Northwest Health Foundation Fund IIFY2024$360,000
Self Enhancement INCOR · FY2024$250,000
Network for Oregon Affordable Housing Suite 245FY2024$250,000
Albina Vision Trust INCFY2024$250,000
Latino NetworkFY2024$203,000
Constructing Hope Pre-Apprenticeship ProgramFY2024$200,000
Apano Communities United FundOR · FY2024$200,000
Northwest Health Foundation Fund IIFY2024$180,000
Talent Maker CityOR · FY2024$150,000
Oregon RecoversOR · FY2024$150,000
Open School INCFY2024$150,000
Heart of Oregon Corps INCOR · FY2024$150,000
African Family Holistic Health OrganizationFY2024$130,000
Reach Community Development INCFY2024$125,000
See all 209 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV144
Average grantPart XV$51K
Median grantPart XV$40K
Largest grantPart XV$360K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (12%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$24.1M
FY2024▲ +662%
Expenses
$15.4M
FY2024-0.2%
Total assets
$234.9M
FY2024▲ +3%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$24.1M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$15.4M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$234.9M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$234.9M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Collins Foundation
EINHdr · item D93-6021893
Principal addressHdr · item CPortland, OR
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.collinsfoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOR
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 1950

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Chief Executive Officer
$300,420Pt VII · Sec A
Chief Program Strategist Officer
$222,583Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer & CFO
$131,160Pt VII · Sec A
$45,000Pt VII · Sec A
$35,000Pt VII · Sec A
$35,000Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President/Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 8 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023
Carol Cheney$300,420$245,730
Cheryl Montoya$266,732
Jacqueline F Meyer Murphy$222,583
Jacqueline F Meyer$166,350
Emilie Cortes$131,160
Kimberlee Pierce Sheng$45,000$45,000
Latricia Tillman$35,000$35,000
Jaime Arredondo$35,000$35,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See The Collins Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$24.1M
Other revenue$5K
Total revenueLn 12$24.1M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.70 Operating & administrative $0.30
Grants & contributions paid70%$10.8M
Operating & administrative30%$4.6M
Total functional expensesLn 25$15.4M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$6.4M
Total assetsLn 16$234.9M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$234.9M
Months of cash on handcomputed5.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $234.9M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $24.1M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $24.1M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $24.1M · Prior year $3.2M
+662%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $5.3M · FY2024 $24.1M
+46%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $234.9M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $24.1M · Expenses $15.4M
+36%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $234.9M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $234.9M · Total assets $234.9M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Carol Cheney · Reported title CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER · Highest reported compensation $300K · Total expenses $15.4M
2%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 662%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$24.1M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$3.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$7.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$25.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$5.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.