Bright Future Fund EIN 93-4678619

Bright Future Fund

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Supports projects strengthening the economy and protecting reproductive rights for a fairer America. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $15K in revenue, in expenses.Pt I

Type
Unknown exempt organization · Nonprofit
Location
Washington, DC
Website
brightfuturefundusa.org
Filings
3 on file (2023–2025)
Revenue
$15KFY2025
Expenses
Net assets
$0
People
3
Filings
3
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  93-4678619 Unknown exempt organization Washington, DC
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Bright Future Fund claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
Supports projects strengthening the economy and protecting reproductive rights for a fairer America.
Leadership
Preston Elliott · President
Money in and out
$15K revenue
Bottom line
-6902% surplus margin
Reported financial activity · FY2025
Total revenue
$15K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Surplus margin
-6902%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -1875% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$15K
FY2025▼ -100%
Expenses
FY2025
Total assets
FY2025
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$15K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $182.3M of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Strengthening the Middle Class

Helping lower costs for american families and advocating for pro-worker public policies including higher wages, paid family and medical leave, and the rights of workers to form a union.

$84.9Mprogram expense
02

Promoting Democracy and Civic Participation

Encouraging civic participation by all americans.

$73.5Mprogram expense
03

Protecting Women's Rights

Working to protect abortion rights and access to reproductive healthcare for women across america.

$23.9Mprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBright Future Fund
EINHdr · item D93-4678619
Principal addressHdr · item CWashington, DC
WebsiteHdr · item Jbrightfuturefundusa.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Bright Future Fund executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$15K
Total revenueLn 12$15K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $0 · Operating expenses/yr $1.1M
0.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $15K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $15K
Investment reliance
Investment income $15K · Total revenue $15K
+100%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $1.1M
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $15K · Prior year $40.6M
-100%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year $1.0M
-100%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $15K · Expenses $1.1M
-6902%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $0 · Total assets $0
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Preston Elliott · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $1.1M
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits — · Total expenses $1.1M
Form 990-EZ bundles compensation — not comparable to full-990 filers
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -100%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2023
Total grants receivedfrom 2 funders$37.5M
Grants paid · 53 grants · $182.1M · 2024–2024
Future Forward USA ActionFY2024$20,835,000
Our American Future ActionDC · FY2024$20,000,000
Working AmericaDC · FY2024$14,500,000
Rapid Resist ActionIL · FY2024$12,400,000
Workmoney Foundation INCWI · FY2024$10,000,000
Working America Education FundDC · FY2024$10,000,000
Forward Majority ActionFY2024$7,790,000
Center for Voter InformationDC · FY2024$6,700,000
Workmoney INCWI · FY2024$6,500,000
Majority ForwardDC · FY2024$5,350,000
Focus for Democracy ActionDC · FY2024$4,500,000
PivotpacFY2024$4,330,000
Future Now ActionDC · FY2024$4,000,000
Sixteen Thirty FundDC · FY2024$3,500,000
People's Action PowerFY2024$3,450,000
DemocracyfirstFY2024$2,940,000
See all 53 grants →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$15K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$40.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$143.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.