Metaphysical Arts Foundation EIN 86-6726092 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Metaphysical Arts Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Portola Vally, CA. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $-192K in revenue, $1.8M in expenses, and $39.7M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Arts & Culture
Location
Portola Vally, CA
Filings
4 on file (2021–2024)
Revenue
$-192KFY2024
Expenses
$1.8M
Net assets
$39.7M
People
1
Filings
4
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  86-6726092 Private foundation / grantmaker Portola Vally, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Metaphysical Arts Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Portola Vally, CA.
Leadership
Bradley a Greene · Trustee · $120K
Money in and out
$-192K revenue, $1.8M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$-192K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.8M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$39.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$1.9M
Total assets
40.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
285K
in FY2024
Grants made
13grants
total in period
Payout rate
1%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 13 grants · $285K · 2024–2024
Overfelt High SchoolFY2024$30,000
Bellarmine College PrepFY2024$30,000
Breakthrough Silicon ValleyCA · FY2024$30,000
Cristo Rey San JoseFY2024$30,000
Mountains to SeaFY2024$30,000
Ace Charter SchoolCA · FY2024$25,000
Canal AllianceCA · FY2024$20,000
Girls Incorporated of the Central CoastFY2024$20,000
East Side Education FoundationFY2024$10,000
Marin Promise PartnershipCA · FY2024$5,000
Envision Your Pathway INCCA · FY2024$5,000
Pathways to PromiseFY2024$57

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV6
Average grantPart XV$22K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$50K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (23%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$-192K
FY2024▼ -180%
Expenses
$1.8M
FY2024▲ +7%
Total assets
$40.7M
FY2024▼ -5%
Total liabilities
$980K
FY2024▼ -9%
Total revenue
$-192K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.8M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$39.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$40.7M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMetaphysical Arts Foundation
EINHdr · item D86-6726092
Principal addressHdr · item CPortola Vally, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFArts & Culture (A51)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2023

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$120,000Pt VII · Sec A
See Metaphysical Arts Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.16 Operating & administrative $0.84
Grants & contributions paid16%$285K
Operating & administrative84%$1.5M
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.8M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$2.5M
Total assetsLn 16$40.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$980K
Total net assetsLn 32$39.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed17.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $40.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $-192K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $-192K
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $-192K · Prior year $240K
-180%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $39.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $-192K · Expenses $1.8M
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $40.7M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $39.7M · Total assets $40.7M
98%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Bradley a Greene · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $120K · Total expenses $1.8M
7%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -180%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$-192K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$240K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$9.5M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$35.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.