Serve Foundation FY2024 filing

Salt Lake City, UT · Private foundation / grantmaker · Public Safety & Disaster

✓ Tax-deductible Latest data FY2024
Revenue
$18K
▲ +28% vs prior year
Spent
$7K
Net assets
$442K
You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2024 (IRS tax year 2024).

Status and standing

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Size and trend
<$100K
↑ +28% vs prior year
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CServe Foundation
EINHdr · item D85-1318696
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2021
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CSalt Lake City, UT
NTEE classificationIRS BMFPublic Safety & Disaster (M20)
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.serve-foundation.com

Where the money goes

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Operating & administrative $1.00
Operating & administrative100%$7K
Total functional expensesLn 25$7K

Financial health

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$18K
FY2024▲ +28%
Expenses
$7K
FY2024
Total assets
461K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants made
3grants
total in period

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$461K
FY2024▲ +2%
Total liabilities
$19K
FY20240%
Total assetsPt II$461K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$461K
Total assetsLn 16$461K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$19K
Total net assetsLn 32$442K
Months of cash on handcomputed806.2

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$18K
Total revenueLn 12$18K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $461K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $18K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $18K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $18K · Prior year $14K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $874K · FY2024 $18K
-62%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $442K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $18K · Expenses $7K
+61%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $461K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $442K · Total assets $461K
96%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Bruce Fery · Reported title President · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $7K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 28%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Chief Tax Officer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Grants Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Grants Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Serve Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Mission and programs

A private foundation based in Salt Lake City, UT.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Serve Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 3 grants · $50K · 2025–2025
The Other Side AcademyFY2025$20,000
Christmas Box InternationalFY2025$15,000
Blaine County Charitable Fund INCFY2025$15,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$17K
Median grantPart XV$15K
Largest grantPart XV$20K

Filing history

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $13K$51K-27% 990 PDF
FY2024 Viewing $18K$7K+28% 990 PDF
FY2023 $14K$0 990 PDF
FY2022 $0$31K 990 PDF
FY2021 $0$212K-100% 990 PDF
FY2020 $874K$214K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Serve Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.