Wellcome Leap INC EIN 84-5192069 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Wellcome Leap INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in San Diego, CA. It reported about $800K in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $800K in revenue, $155.8M in expenses, and $238.5M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Medical Research
Location
San Diego, CA
Website
www.wellcomeleap.org
Filings
4 on file (2021–2024)
Revenue
$800KFY2024
Expenses
$155.8M
Net assets
$238.5M
People
8
Filings
4
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  84-5192069 Private foundation / grantmaker San Diego, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Wellcome Leap INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in San Diego, CA. It reported about $800K in revenue for 2023.
Leadership
Regina Dugan · Director, President & CEO · $790K
Money in and out
$800K revenue, $155.8M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$800K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$155.8M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$238.5M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$155.0M
Total assets
252.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
71.0M
in FY2024
Grants made
108grants
total in period
Payout rate
28%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 108 grants · $71.0M · 2023–2023
Cornell UniversityNY · FY2023$3,428,758
McLean HospitalFY2023$2,439,181
University of California Los AngelesFY2023$2,123,429
Wellcome Sanger InstituteFY2023$2,002,033
Ribopro BvFY2023$1,988,186
Stanford UniversityFY2023$1,795,268
Centillion TechnologyFY2023$1,622,399
King's College LondonFY2023$1,479,032
Grendel Games BvFY2023$1,454,723
University of Cape TownFY2023$1,447,647
Sibel Health INCFY2023$1,421,622
Vanderbilt UniversityTN · FY2023$1,360,448
Makerere University HospitalFY2023$1,359,990
University of CambridgeFY2023$1,347,014
Vanderbilt UniversityTN · FY2023$1,292,970
Stanford UniversityFY2023$1,217,013
University of California IrvineFY2023$1,184,618
See all 108 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV13
Average grantPart XV$657K
Median grantPart XV$499K
Largest grantPart XV$3.4M
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (12%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$800K
FY2024▼ -74%
Expenses
$155.8M
FY2024▼ -2%
Total assets
$252.2M
FY2024▼ -37%
Total liabilities
$13.7M
FY2024▲ +70%
Total revenue
$800K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$155.8M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$238.5M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$252.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CWellcome Leap INC
EINHdr · item D84-5192069
Principal addressHdr · item CSan Diego, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.wellcomeleap.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFMedical Research (H12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2020

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2023); the FY2024 filing did not itemize Part VII
Director, President & CEO
$790,408Pt VII · Sec A
$601,923Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary (through July 2024)
$163,450Pt VII · Sec A
Director & Chair
$75,000Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$12,500Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Wellcome Leap INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$629K · 79%
Other revenue$171K · 21%
Investment income79%$629K
Other revenue21%$171K
Total revenueLn 12$800K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.46 Operating & administrative $0.54
Grants & contributions paid46%$71.0M
Operating & administrative54%$84.8M
Total functional expensesLn 25$155.8M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$19.1M
Total assetsLn 16$252.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$13.7M
Total net assetsLn 32$238.5M
Months of cash on handcomputed1.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $252.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $800K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $800K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $800K · Prior year $3.1M
-74%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $238.5M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $800K · Expenses $155.8M
-19374%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $252.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $238.5M · Total assets $252.2M
95%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Regina Dugan · Reported title DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT & CEO · Highest reported compensation $790K · Total expenses $155.8M
0.5%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -74%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$800K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$3.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$346.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$307.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.