Kleckner Foundation EIN 84-4747454

Kleckner Foundation

EIN  84-4747454 Private foundation / grantmaker Urbandale, IA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Kleckner Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Urbandale, IA. It reported about $232K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Shawne Kleckner · Chairperson · $58K
Money in and out
$232K revenue, $222K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Urbandale, IA. It reported about $232K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $232K in revenue, $222K in expenses, and $5.2M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$232K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$222K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$5.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $10K
Total assets
5.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
59K
in FY2025
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
1%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $59K · 2025–2025
Japan Society of New YorkFY2025$15,092
Food Bank of IowaFY2025$12,500
Des Moines Area Religious CouncilFY2025$11,500
Hope MinistriesFY2025$3,400
Des Moines Zen CenterFY2025$3,128
Ryumonji Zen MonasteryFY2025$3,000
Central Iowa Shelter ServicesFY2025$3,000
Peaceful Forest TaikoFY2025$2,750
Japan Society of IowaFY2025$1,877
The Anime Business Interview SeriesFY2025$1,350
Dogen InstituteFY2025$600
Iowa Homeless YouthFY2025$258
Dmacc FoundationFY2025$250
Hcm AssociationFY2025$104
Youth Shelter ServicesFY2025$40
Iowa Bird RehabilitationFY2025$25

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$15K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$232K
FY2025▼ -12%
Expenses
$222K
FY2025▲ +23%
Total assets
$5.2M
FY20250%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025▼ -100%
Total revenue
$232K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$222K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$5.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$5.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CKleckner Foundation
EINHdr · item D84-4747454
Principal addressHdr · item CUrbandale, IA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2020

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Chairperson
$57,500Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024
Shawne Kleckner$57,500$57,500

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Kleckner Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$232K
Total revenueLn 12$232K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.27 Operating & administrative $0.73
Grants & contributions paid27%$59K
Operating & administrative73%$163K
Total functional expensesLn 25$222K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$5.2M
Total assetsLn 16$5.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$5.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed283.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $5.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $232K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $232K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $232K · Prior year $265K
-12%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $5.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $232K · Expenses $222K
+4%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $5.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $5.2M · Total assets $5.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Shawne Kleckner · Reported title CHAIRPERSON · Highest reported compensation $58K · Total expenses $222K
26%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -12%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$232K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$265K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$603K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$4.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$0 revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$0 revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.