Cea Alliance FY2020 filing

Business league / trade association Alexandria, VA EIN 84-3784768 NTEE K03
Revenue
$246K
FY2020 · Pt VIII · Ln 12
Expenses
$207K
FY2020 · Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$70K
FY2020 · Pt X · Ln 32
To programs
0%
FY2020 · Pt IX · col B
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$246K
FY2020
Expenses
$207K
FY2020

Promotes food safety standards and education for controlled environment agriculture operators.

Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file. Details →
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list. Details →
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
0% to programs
Form 990 Part IX, latest filing. Details →
Size and trend
$100K–1M

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2020 (IRS tax year 2020).


Promotes food safety standards and education for controlled environment agriculture operators.

Type
Business league / trade association · Food & Agriculture
Location
Alexandria, VA
Website
www.ceafoodsafety.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2020)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Cea Alliance claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Operating surplus
+16%
revenue over expenses
Earned revenue
100%
of revenue from program services & dues
Payroll share
70%
of spending is salaries & benefits

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Cea Alliance →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990
Total assets
$70K
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$39K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$70K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 37
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 46

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CCea Alliance
EINHdr · item D84-3784768
Principal addressHdr · item CAlexandria, VA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.ceafoodsafety.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MVA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(6) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFood & Agriculture (K03)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2020

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a7
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b6
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$144,000Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice-Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Thomas Stenzel’s $240K as Executive Director is at the 100th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1172 $100K–1M food & agriculture nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 5 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Thomas Stenzel$240,000$235,000$75,000——
Marni Karlin————$144,000
Mani Karlin———$110,565—
Elisabeth Hagen——$86,836——
Elisabeth Hagen———$41,665—

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Cea Alliance executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $144K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

General Program

1. Completed background research and draft framework for CEA Leafy Greens Module, a food safety audit and certification program specific to CEA Leafy Greens producers. 2. Provided comments to FDA Rulemaking 3. Developed No Need to Wash product label guidance for Coalition members

$144Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue100%$246K
Total revenueLn 12$246K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$69K
Total assetsLn 16$70K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$70K
Months of cash on handcomputed4.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $69K · Operating expenses/yr $207K
4.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $207K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $207K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $207K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $246K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $246K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $246K · Total revenue $246K
100%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $246K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $246K · Total expenses $207K
119%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $246K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $70K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $246K · Expenses $207K
+16%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $70K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $70K · Total assets $70K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $70K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Marni Karlin · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $144K · Total expenses $207K
70%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $144K · Total expenses $207K
70%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Legal fee ratio 23%——
Accounting fee ratio 1%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$402K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$404K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$384K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$182K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$230K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$246K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.