Transformative Learning Foundation EIN 84-1588984

Transformative Learning Foundation

EIN  84-1588984 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Redding, CA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Transformative Learning Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
Builds transformative learning communities for parents, teachers, and learners.
Leadership
Albee Kara · CEO
Money in and out
$69K revenue, $87K expenses
Bottom line
0.6mo operating runway

Builds transformative learning communities for parents, teachers, and learners. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $69K in revenue, $87K in expenses, and $4K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2024
Total revenue
$69K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$87K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$18K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.92
Operating runway
0.6mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▼ -84% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
-26%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -406% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
-10%
avg. annual growth over 5 years▼ -2% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Revenue
$69K
FY2024▼ -11%
Expenses
$87K
FY2024▲ +22%
Total assets
$4K
FY2024▼ -81%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$69K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$87K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$18K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$4K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B92%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $33K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

Developed and provided courses for both a certificate and for single courses and curriculum for parents, educators, and individuals devoted to liberation from conditioned behavior and to be a catalyst of evolu- tion of conscsiousness in familes, careers, and personal relationships

$33Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CTransformative Learning Foundation
EINHdr · item D84-1588984
Principal addressHdr · item CRedding, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jtlcommunity.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B99)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2002

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Paul Freedman’s $19K as President is at the 58th percentile of top reported officer pay among 144 <$100K education nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

See Transformative Learning Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$51K · 74%
Other revenue$18K · 26%
Contributions & grants74%$51K
Other revenue26%$18K
Total revenueLn 12$69K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.92
Program services92%$80K
Total functional expensesLn 25$87K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$4K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$4K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $4K · Operating expenses/yr $87K
0.6 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $51K · Total revenue $69K
74%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $17K · Total revenue $69K
25%
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $69K
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $17K · Total expenses $87K
20%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $69K · Prior year $77K
-11%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $119K · FY2024 $69K
-10%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4K · Beginning of year $22K
-81%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $69K · Expenses $87K
-26%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $0 · Total assets $4K
0%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4K · Total assets $4K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Albee Kara · Reported title CEO · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $87K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $80K · Total expenses $87K
92%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 92%
Revenue growth -11%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2023
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$45K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Transformative Learning Foundation →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$69K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$77K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$51K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$65K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$212K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2019$119K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.