The Cross Foundation EIN 83-6765443 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

The Cross Foundation FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Houston, TX. It reported about $1.3M in revenue for 2021. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $1.3M in revenue, $693K in expenses, and $646K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Houston, TX
Filings
5 on file (2020–2021)
Revenue
$1.3MFY2021
Expenses
$693K
Net assets
$646K
People
2
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  83-6765443 Private foundation / grantmaker Houston, TX
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Cross Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Houston, TX. It reported about $1.3M in revenue for 2021.
Leadership
Bradley Cross · Trustee
Money in and out
$1.3M revenue, $693K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$1.3M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$693K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$646K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $632K
Total assets
646K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
595K
in FY2021
Grants made
45grants
total in period
Payout rate
92%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 45 grants · $1.1M · 2024–2024
Reach the RestFY2024$200,000
Sport CatalystFY2024$100,000
Second Baptist ChurchFY2024$96,745
Glorieta Adventure CampsFY2024$75,000
Revival Sports INCFY2024$56,000
Mission of HopeFY2024$50,076
New Covenant Missions INCID · FY2024$50,000
Marine ReachFY2024$50,000
Full Gospel Korean Chruch of HoustonFY2024$40,500
Foundry Partners INC - DBA Rooted ConferencesFY2024$25,000
Arabian World PartnershipTX · FY2024$24,420
U of N KonaFY2024$23,200
RevivalCA · FY2024$20,000
HomeFY2024$13,200
General Council of the Assemblies of GodFY2024$12,600
Axia InternationalTX · FY2024$12,000
See all 45 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV18
Average grantPart XV$25K
Median grantPart XV$6K
Largest grantPart XV$200K
Top cause focusNTEEReligion (13%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.3M
FY2021▲ +8%
Expenses
$693K
FY2021▼ -51%
Total assets
$646K
FY2021▲ ×47
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total revenue
$1.3M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$693K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$646K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$646K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Cross Foundation
EINHdr · item D83-6765443
Principal addressHdr · item CHouston, TX
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTX
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See The Cross Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$1.3M
Total revenueLn 12$1.3M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.86 Operating & administrative $0.14
Grants & contributions paid86%$595K
Operating & administrative14%$98K
Total functional expensesLn 25$693K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$646K
Total assetsLn 16$646K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$646K
Months of cash on handcomputed11.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $646K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.3M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.3M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.3M · Prior year $1.2M
+8%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $646K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.3M · Expenses $693K
+48%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $646K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $646K · Total assets $646K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Bradley Cross · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $693K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 8%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$739K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.3M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.