Morosani Foundation EIN 82-3813375 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Morosani Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Asheville, NC. It reported about $173K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $173K in revenue, $122K in expenses, and $969K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Asheville, NC
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$173KFY2020
Expenses
$122K
Net assets
$969K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  82-3813375 Private foundation / grantmaker Asheville, NC
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Morosani Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Asheville, NC. It reported about $173K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$173K revenue, $122K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$173K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$122K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$969K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $52K
Total assets
969K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
41K
in FY2020
Grants made
65grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 65 grants · $72K · 2024–2024
Rollins CollegeFL · FY2024$23,750
Proctor AcademyNH · FY2024$4,500
Helpmate INCNC · FY2024$3,500
Pisgah Legal ServicesNC · FY2024$2,091
Western Carolina Rescue MinistryFY2024$2,060
Asheville-Buncome Tech Comm CollegeFY2024$2,000
Samaritan's PurseFY2024$2,000
AbccmFY2024$2,000
All Souls Counseling CenterNC · FY2024$1,200
Unca FoundationFY2024$1,000
Memory CareFY2024$1,000
Memorial Sloan KetteringFY2024$1,000
Joel Osteen MinistriesFY2024$1,000
See all 65 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV29
Average grantPart XV$1K
Median grantPart XV$300
Largest grantPart XV$24K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (9%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$173K
FY2020
Expenses
$122K
FY2020
Total assets
$969K
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$173K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$122K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$969K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$969K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMorosani Foundation
EINHdr · item D82-3813375
Principal addressHdr · item CAsheville, NC
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Morosani Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$86K · 49%
Other revenue$83K · 48%
Investment income$5K · 3%
Contributions & grants49%$86K
Other revenue48%$83K
Investment income3%$5K
Total revenueLn 12$173K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.33 Operating & administrative $0.67
Grants & contributions paid33%$41K
Operating & administrative67%$81K
Total functional expensesLn 25$122K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$57K
Total assetsLn 16$969K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$969K
Months of cash on handcomputed5.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $969K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $173K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $173K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $173K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $969K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $173K · Expenses $122K
+30%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $969K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $969K · Total assets $969K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $122K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$334K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$235K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$383K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$205K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$173K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.