The Sevan Charitable Foundation INC EIN 82-3400508

The Sevan Charitable Foundation INC

EIN  82-3400508 Private foundation / grantmaker Downers Grove, IL
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Sevan Charitable Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Downers Grove, IL. It reported about $200K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
James a Evans · Director
Money in and out
$200K revenue, $162K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Downers Grove, IL. It reported about $200K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $200K in revenue, $162K in expenses, and $156K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$200K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$162K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$156K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $38K
Total assets
182K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
162K
in FY2025
Grants made
26grants
total in period
Payout rate
89%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 26 grants · $162K · 2025–2025
Fisher House Foundation INCFY2025$46,777
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Chicagoland & Northwest IndianaFY2025$25,777
Blood Cancer UnitedFY2025$25,329
Sharebuilt INCFY2025$22,527
United Service Organizations INC (uso)FY2025$21,777
Blue Angels FoundationFY2025$10,000
Rotary Club of Downers GroveFY2025$2,500
Folds of HonorFY2025$1,500
Crossroads Urban CenterFY2025$750
The Bulverde Food PantryFY2025$750
Friends of Front Street ShelterFY2025$750
Helping Hand for Relief & DevelopmentFY2025$750
Team RubiconFY2025$600
Fellowship of Christian AthletesFY2025$500
Mother Teresa Maternity Home INCFY2025$452
World Central KitchenFY2025$400
St Jude Children's Research HospitalFY2025$250
Misericordia Family AssociationFY2025$200
See all 26 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$6K
Median grantPart XV$600
Largest grantPart XV$47K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$200K
FY2025▲ +97%
Expenses
$162K
FY2025▲ +12%
Total assets
$182K
FY2025▲ +53%
Total liabilities
$25K
FY2025
Total revenue
$200K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$162K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$156K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$182K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Sevan Charitable Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D82-3400508
Principal addressHdr · item CDowners Grove, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2018

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See The Sevan Charitable Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$186K · 93%
Other revenue$9K · 5%
Investment income$5K · 2%
Contributions & grants93%$186K
Other revenue5%$9K
Investment income2%$5K
Total revenueLn 12$200K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $1.00
Grants & contributions paid100%$162K
Total functional expensesLn 25$162K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$107K
Total assetsLn 16$182K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$25K
Total net assetsLn 32$156K
Months of cash on handcomputed7.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $182K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $200K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $200K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $200K · Prior year $102K
+97%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $96K · FY2025 $200K
+16%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $156K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $200K · Expenses $162K
+19%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $182K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $156K · Total assets $182K
86%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual James a Evans · Reported title Director · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $162K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 97%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$200K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$102K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$108K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$103K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$97K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$96K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.