Robert E Tipton JR Charitable Foundation EIN 81-6183536 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Robert E Tipton JR Charitable Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Memphis, TN. It reported about $112K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $112K in revenue, $70K in expenses, and $1.1M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Memphis, TN
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$112KFY2020
Expenses
$70K
Net assets
$1.1M
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  81-6183536 Private foundation / grantmaker Memphis, TN
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Robert E Tipton JR Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Memphis, TN. It reported about $112K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$112K revenue, $70K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$112K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$70K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $42K
Total assets
1.1M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
56K
in FY2020
Grants made
11grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 11 grants · $299K · 2024–2024
Memphis University SchoolTN · FY2024$200,000
Gordie FoundationFY2024$28,977
The Hutchison SchoolTN · FY2024$25,000
Trinity Episcopal Church of Pine BluffFY2024$15,000
Tucker Hipps FoundationFY2024$5,000
Carnival MemphisFY2024$5,000
Turning Point MinistriesFY2024$5,000
Brooks Museum of ArtFY2024$5,000
Tn Shakespeare CompanyFY2024$5,000
Delta WaterfowlFY2024$2,500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV3
Average grantPart XV$27K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$200K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (18%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$112K
FY2020
Expenses
$70K
FY2020
Total assets
$1.1M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$112K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$70K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.1M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CRobert E Tipton JR Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D81-6183536
Principal addressHdr · item CMemphis, TN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2016

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Robert E Tipton JR Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$71K · 64%
Investment income$45K · 40%
Contributions & grants64%$71K
Investment income40%$45K
Total revenueLn 12$112K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.80 Operating & administrative $0.20
Grants & contributions paid80%$56K
Operating & administrative20%$14K
Total functional expensesLn 25$70K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$79K
Total assetsLn 16$1.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed13.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.1M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $112K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $112K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $112K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $112K · Expenses $70K
+37%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.1M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.1M · Total assets $1.1M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $70K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$290K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$285K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$213K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$444K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$112K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.