Making a Difference Foundation EIN 81-4680770

Making a Difference Foundation FY2022 filing

EIN  81-4680770 Private foundation / grantmaker Midvale, UT
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Making a Difference Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Midvale, UT. It reported about $1.6M in revenue for 2022.
Leadership
Kevin Ricklefs · President
Money in and out
$1.6M revenue, $545K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Midvale, UT. It reported about $1.6M in revenue for 2022. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $1.6M in revenue, $545K in expenses, and $4.6M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2022
Total revenue
$1.6M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$545K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.6M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $1.0M
Total assets
4.6M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
474K
in FY2022
Grants made
229grants
total in period
Payout rate
10%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 229 grants · $828K · 2024–2024
International Medical ReliefCO · FY2024$138,572
Maliheh Free ClinicUT · FY2024$25,500
Seager Memorial ClinicUT · FY2024$25,000
People's Health Clinic INCUT · FY2024$25,000
Caridad Center INCFL · FY2024$25,000
Partners for World HealthME · FY2024$19,500
American Red CrossFY2024$15,000
Voom FoundationTX · FY2024$13,000
UNICEFFY2024$10,000
Doctors Without BordersFY2024$10,000
Community Foundation Western North CarolinaFY2024$10,000
Volunteers of AmericaFY2024$8,500
Davis Education Foundation (mountain High School)FY2024$8,000
Humane Society of UtahUT · FY2024$5,500
See all 229 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV106
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$139K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (7%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.6M
FY2022▲ +34%
Expenses
$545K
FY2022▲ +74%
Total assets
$4.6M
FY2022▲ +44%
Total liabilities
$3K
FY2022▼ -93%
Total revenue
$1.6M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$545K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.6M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$4.6M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMaking a Difference Foundation
EINHdr · item D81-4680770
Principal addressHdr · item CMidvale, UT
WebsiteHdr · item Jmakingadifferencefdn.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MUT
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2018

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2022 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Making a Difference Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$1.9M · 123%
Investment income$81K · 5%
Contributions & grants123%$1.9M
Investment income5%$81K
Total revenueLn 12$1.6M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.87 Operating & administrative $0.13
Grants & contributions paid87%$474K
Operating & administrative13%$71K
Total functional expensesLn 25$545K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$662K
Total assetsLn 16$4.6M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$3K
Total net assetsLn 32$4.6M
Months of cash on handcomputed14.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.6M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.6M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.6M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.6M · Prior year $1.2M
+34%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.6M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.6M · Expenses $545K
+65%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.6M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.6M · Total assets $4.6M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $545K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 34%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Making a Difference Foundation →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$1.9M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.6M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$706K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.