Gapps EIN 81-4625437

Gapps FY2023 filing

EIN  81-4625437 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Lynnwood, WA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Gapps claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Improving birth outcomes globally through research and education.
Leadership
James Litch · Executive Director · $207K
Money in and out
$412K revenue, $799K expenses
Bottom line
29.2mo operating runway

Improving birth outcomes globally through research and education. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $412K in revenue, $799K in expenses, and $813K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2023
Total revenue
$412K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$799K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$813K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$387K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.47 Management & general $0.53
Operating runway
29.2mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
-94%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
253%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Revenue
$412K
FY2023▼ -21%
Expenses
$799K
FY2023▲ ×100
Total assets
$976K
FY2023▼ -48%
Total liabilities
$316K
FY2023▼ -36%
Total revenue
$412K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$799K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$813K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$387K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$976K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B47%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 35
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 44
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

4 program services account for $577K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

PERINATAL RESEARCHDeveloping a successful array of solutions for adverse birth outcomes urgently requires a broader understanding of normal pregnancy. We need to close our knowledge gaps before we can close our solution gaps.In addition to convening global scientific experts around the challenge to methodically study pregnancy and early…

$234Kprogram expense
02

PERINATAL RESEARCHDeveloping a successful array of solutions for adverse birth outcomes urgently requires a broader understanding of normal pregnancy. We need to close our knowledge gaps before we can close our solution gaps.In addition to convening global scientific experts around the challenge to methodically study pregnancy and early…

$165Kprogram expense
03

GAPPS Bioservices was founded in 2009 to serve the urgent need for biological specimens to support research on complications in pregnancy. GAPPS offers full service biospecimen management including biospecimen procurement and management, sample storage and tracking, and molecular analyte extraction.

$104Kprogram expense
04

GAPPS Bioservices was founded in 2009 to serve the urgent need for biological specimens to support research on complications in pregnancy. GAPPS offers full service biospecimen management including biospecimen procurement and management, sample storage and tracking, and molecular analyte extraction.

$73Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CGapps
EINHdr · item D81-4625437
Principal addressHdr · item CLynnwood, WA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.gapps.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MWA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFCommunity Development (S80)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2017

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a5
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b4
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2Yes

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2022); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
Executive Director
$206,639Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Director
$206,639Pt VII · Sec A
Acting Exc. Dir
$100,331Pt VII · Sec A
Acting Exc. Dir
$100,331Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Chairman
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Shelley London’s $24K as Treasurer is at the 13th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1711 $100K–1M community development nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 5 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
James Litch$206,639$365,224$337,824$338,826
James Litch$206,639
Courtney Gravett$100,331
Courtney Gravett$100,331
Shelley London$24,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Gapps executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$1.0M · 253%
Program service revenue$282K · 69%
Contributions & grants253%$1.0M
Program service revenue69%$282K
Investment income$18
— government grantsLn 1e$151K
Total revenueLn 12$412K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.47 Management & general $0.53
Program services47%$372K
Management & general53%$427K
Total functional expensesLn 25$799K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.9M
Total assetsLn 16$976K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$316K
Total net assetsLn 32$813K
Months of cash on handcomputed29.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $1.9M · Operating expenses/yr $799K
29.2 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $262K · Total expenses $621K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $358K · Total expenses $621K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $621K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $728K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $1.0M · Total revenue $412K
253%
Government reliance
Government grants $151K · Total revenue $412K
37%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $282K · Total revenue $412K
69%
Investment reliance
Investment income $18 · Total revenue $412K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $282K · Total expenses $799K
35%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $412K · Prior year $520K
-21%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $813K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $412K · Expenses $799K
-94%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $976K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $813K · Total assets $976K
83%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $976K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual James Litch · Reported title Executive Director · Highest reported compensation $207K · Total expenses $799K
26%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $451K · Total expenses $799K
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 47%
Overhead ratio 53%
Fundraising cost ratio 0%
Revenue growth -21%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 0%
Accounting fee ratio 0%
Fundraising fee ratio 0%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$103K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Gapps →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$266K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$412K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$520K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$2.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$359K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.