Head Starter Network EIN 81-3558468

Head Starter Network

EIN  81-3558468 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Alexandria, VA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Head Starter Network claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Drives innovation in early childhood development and education using best practices from technology and business.
Leadership
Chuck Mills · President
Money in and out
$114K revenue, $119K expenses
Bottom line
23.4mo operating runway

Drives innovation in early childhood development and education using best practices from technology and business. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $114K in revenue, $119K in expenses, and $-25K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2024
Total revenue
$114K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$119K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-25K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$6K
Operating runway
23.4mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▼ -90% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
-5%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
13%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Revenue
$114K
FY2024
Expenses
$119K
FY2024▲ +862%
Total assets
$232K
FY2024▼ -8%
Total liabilities
$257K
FY2024▼ -6%
Total revenue
$114K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$119K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-25K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$6K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$232K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

The headstarter network serves as a forum for knowledge exchange among early childhood development and education practitioners as well as with other industries and sectors. We are keen to take the best practices and innovations of other disciplines, especially the disruptive potential of exponential technologies, and combine them with…

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHead Starter Network
EINHdr · item D81-3558468
Principal addressHdr · item CAlexandria, VA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.headstarternetwork.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MVA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFYouth Development (O12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 2016

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary & Executive Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Head Starter Network executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$99K · 87%
Contributions & grants$15K · 13%
Other revenue87%$99K
Contributions & grants13%$15K
Total revenueLn 12$114K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$232K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$257K
Total net assetsLn 32$-25K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $232K · Operating expenses/yr $119K
23.4 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $15K · Total revenue $114K
13%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $99K · Total revenue $114K
87%
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $114K
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $99K · Total expenses $119K
83%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $114K · Prior year $0
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $-25K · Beginning of year $-19K
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $114K · Expenses $119K
-5%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $257K · Total assets $232K
111%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $-25K · Total assets $232K
-11%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Chuck Mills · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $119K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits — · Total expenses $119K
Form 990-EZ bundles compensation — not comparable to full-990 filers

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Head Starter Network →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024$0 revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$96K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$36K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$11K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.