Maine Mountain Collaborative EIN 81-3548148

Maine Mountain Collaborative FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Protects and cares for natural lands for future generations. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $124K in revenue, in expenses, and $152K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Environment
Location
Portland, ME
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$124KFY2020
Expenses
Net assets
$152K
People
6
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  81-3548148 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Portland, ME
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Maine Mountain Collaborative claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Protects and cares for natural lands for future generations.
Leadership
John Bwentzell · Executive Dir. · $80K
Money in and out
$124K revenue
Bottom line
14.7mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2020
Total revenue
$124K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$152K
Pt X · Ln 32
Operating runway
14.7mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
-0.08%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
100%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$124K
FY2020
Expenses
FY2020
Total assets
FY2020
Total liabilities
FY2020
Total revenue
$124K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$152K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMaine Mountain Collaborative
EINHdr · item D81-3548148
Principal addressHdr · item CPortland, ME
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MME
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEnvironment (C34)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2017

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Dir.
$80,000Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

John Bryan Wentzell’s $94K as Executive Director is at the 76th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1981 $100K–1M environment nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
John Bryan Wentzell$94,500$94,500$90,000
John Bwentzell$80,000$80,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Maine Mountain Collaborative executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$124K
Total revenueLn 12$124K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26
Total net assetsLn 32$152K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $152K · Operating expenses/yr $124K
14.7 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $124K · Total revenue $124K
100%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $124K
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $124K
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $124K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $124K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $152K · Beginning of year $152K
-0.07%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $124K · Expenses $124K
-0.08%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $152K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $152K · Total assets $152K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual John Bwentzell · Reported title Executive Dir. · Highest reported compensation $80K · Total expenses $124K
65%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $86K · Total expenses $124K
69%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 3 funders$129K
See all 3 funders →
Grants paid · 21 grants · $482K · 2021–2024
Somerset Woods TrusteesME · FY2024$60,000
The Trust for Public LandCA · FY2024$15,000
New Learning JourneyVT · FY2024$10,865
High Peaks AllianceME · FY2024$10,000
The Trust for Public LandCA · FY2023$53,144
Forest Society of MaineME · FY2023$15,000
Mahoosuc Land Trust INCME · FY2023$15,000
Appalachian Mountain ClubMA · FY2023$12,865
Mahoosuc Land Trust INCME · FY2022$25,000
Friends of Wilson Ponds AreaFY2022$25,000
Mahoosuc Land Trust INCME · FY2022$19,625
The Trust for Public LandCA · FY2022$12,500
The Nature ConservancyVA · FY2021$50,000
See all 21 grants →

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Maine Mountain Collaborative →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$166K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$588K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$849K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$725K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$124K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.