Novotny Charitable Foundation EIN 81-1499439 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Novotny Charitable Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Sagle, ID. It reported about $244K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $244K in revenue, $49K in expenses, and $1.5M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Sagle, ID
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$244KFY2025
Expenses
$49K
Net assets
$1.5M
People
3
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  81-1499439 Private foundation / grantmaker Sagle, ID
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Novotny Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Sagle, ID. It reported about $244K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Stephan Novotny · Trustee
Money in and out
$244K revenue, $49K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$244K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$49K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.5M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $195K
Total assets
1.5M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
46K
in FY2025
Grants made
14grants
total in period
Payout rate
3%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 14 grants · $46K · 2025–2025
Idaho Stem Action FoundationFY2025$11,000
Red & Blue FoundationFY2025$5,000
Community Foundation Texas HillFY2025$5,000
Atlanta Habitat for HumanityFY2025$4,000
Morgan's WonderlandFY2025$3,750
Light the Way Food BankFY2025$3,500
National Veteran FoundationFY2025$3,250
Meals on Wheels AmericaFY2025$3,000
Sandpoint Area SeniorsFY2025$2,000
Bonner Community Food BankFY2025$2,000
Rathdrum Food BankFY2025$1,000
Brittany Rescue of TexasFY2025$1,000
American Pit Bull FoundationFY2025$1,000
Warriors & Quiet WatersFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$11K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$244K
FY2025▼ -4%
Expenses
$49K
FY2025▼ -32%
Total assets
$1.5M
FY2025▲ +15%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$244K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$49K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.5M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.5M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CNovotny Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D81-1499439
Principal addressHdr · item CSagle, ID
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MID
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2016

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Novotny Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$208K · 85%
Investment income$36K · 15%
Contributions & grants85%$208K
Investment income15%$36K
Total revenueLn 12$244K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.93 Operating & administrative $0.07
Grants & contributions paid93%$46K
Operating & administrative7%$3K
Total functional expensesLn 25$49K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$61K
Total assetsLn 16$1.5M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.5M
Months of cash on handcomputed14.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.5M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $244K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $244K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $244K · Prior year $253K
-4%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $246K · FY2025 $244K
-0.2%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.5M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $244K · Expenses $49K
+80%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.5M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.5M · Total assets $1.5M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Stephan Novotny · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $49K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -4%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$244K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$253K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$245K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$247K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$264K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$246K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.