Into the Deep FY2023 filing

Tax-deductible

West Linn, OR501(c)(3)Since 2018ReligionEIN 81-0724934

INTO THE DEEP exists to promote spiritual growth and discipleship through a Christ-centered ministry. The organization primarily serves men by providing conferences retreats mentorship and community-based programs that foster faith relational connection and personal development equipping participants to strengthen their families and communities.

501(c)(3) charity; gifts are tax-deductible.
13¢ of each $1 spent went to programs.
$214K paid to officers and key staff.
Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1 · Status: IRS Pub. 78 · Programs: Part IX · Pay: Part VII

Before you give

FY2023 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Is it a real charity?
501(c)(3)
not on the IRS revocation list
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Are gifts tax-deductible?
Yes
Donations are tax-deductible
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Is it filing on time?
FY2025
latest Form 990
IRS e-file · Filing history
Is it financially stable?
2 of 4
years in the black
Pt I · Ln 19 · 4 filings
How much reaches the programs?
13%
of spending
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
What are leaders paid?
$214K
to officers and key staff · 49% of spending
Pt VII · Sec A
Do they have reserves?
2 mo
of spending, in cash
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Who is supporting them already?
3
named funders · $88K
Funders’ Sch. I, 990-PF
Do they carry debt?
$0
liabilities
Pt X · Ln 26
Who oversees it?
4
independent of 5 voting board members
Pt VI · Ln 1a–1b
Revenue
$343K
+5% vs prior year
Spent
$434K
To programs
13%
Net assets
$83K
By yearFY2022–FY2025
Revenue
$343K
FY2023▲ +5%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2022$328K
FY2023$343K
FY2024$911K
FY2025$360K
Expenses
$434K
FY2023▲ +122%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2022$195K
FY2023$434K
FY2024$438K
FY2025$508K
Net assets
$83K
FY2023▼ -52%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2022$174K
FY2023$83K
FY2024$556K
FY2025$408K

From the FY2023 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CInto the Deep
EINHdr · item D81-0724934
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2019
Year of formationHdr · item L2018
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CWest Linn, OR
NTEE classificationIRS BMFReligion (X20)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.13 Fundraising $0.02
Program services13%$56K
Fundraising2%$10K
Total functional expensesLn 25$434K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Operating runway
2.1mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
-26%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
81%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Total assets
$83K
FY2023▼ -52%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2022$174K
FY2023$83K
FY2024$556K
FY2025$414K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
FY2025$6K
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$91K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$83K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B13%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 35
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 44

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$75K
Total assetsLn 16$83K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$83K
Months of cash on handcomputed2.1

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$280K · 81%
Program service revenue$62K · 18%
Contributions & grants81%$280K
Program service revenue18%$62K
Investment income$8
Other revenue$1K
Total revenueLn 12$343K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $75K · Operating expenses/yr $434K
2.1 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $56K · Total expenses $434K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $434K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $10K · Total expenses $434K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (2-yr avg) $6K · Solicited contributions (2-yr avg) $270K
$0.02 to raise $1 (2-yr avg)
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $280K · Total revenue $343K
81%
Government reliance
Government grants $0 · Total revenue $343K
0%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $62K · Total revenue $343K
18%
Investment reliance
Investment income $8 · Total revenue $343K
<0.01%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $62K · Total expenses $434K
14%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $343K · Prior year $328K
+5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $83K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $343K · Expenses $434K
-26%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $83K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $83K · Total assets $83K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $83K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Brandon Reynolds · Reported title Director CEO · Highest reported compensation $127K · Total expenses $434K
29%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $361K · Total expenses $434K
83%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 13%——
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 3%——
Revenue growth 5%——
Investment management fee ratio 0%——
Legal fee ratio 0.01%——
Accounting fee ratio 0.1%——
Fundraising fee ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director CEO
$127,270Pt VII · Sec A
Operations
$87,180Pt VII · Sec A

Kirk Ihlenburg’s $124K as Operations is at the 95th percentile of top reported officer pay among 2133 $100K–1M religion nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
Brandon Reynolds$112,860$116,000$127,270
Kirk Ihlenburg$123,958$110,333$87,180
Cliff Reynolds$14,891——

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Into the Deep executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 5Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 4Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Fosters spiritual growth and physical health through a God-centered ministry, building community to discover identity and serve others.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Into the Deep claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

2 program services account for $56K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

Hosting conferences that support and further the mission of INTO THE DEEP.

$32Kprogram expense
02

Coaching churches to develop strong men's communities that implement the INTO THE DEEP model.

$23Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 3 funders$88K
See all 3 funders →

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $360K$508K-61% 990 PDF
FY2024 $911K$438K+165% 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $343K$434K+5% 990 PDF
FY2022 $328K$195K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Into the Deep →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.