Indy Convergence INC EIN 80-0253483 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Indy Convergence INC FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Offers space and materials for artists and the community to create. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $79K in revenue, $196K in expenses, and $-21K in net assets.Pt I

Founded
2009
Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Arts & Culture
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Website
www.indyconvergence.org
Filings
4 on file (2020–2021)
Revenue
$79KFY2021
Expenses
$196K
Net assets
$-21K
People
15
Filings
4
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  80-0253483 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Indianapolis, IN Founded 2009
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Indy Convergence INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Offers space and materials for artists and the community to create.
Leadership
Robert Negron · Artistic Director · $19K
Money in and out
$79K revenue, $196K expenses
Bottom line
0.2mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2021
Total revenue
$79K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$196K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-21K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$117K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.57 Management & general $0.43 Fundraising $0.00
Operating runway
0.2mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
-147%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
92%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$79K
FY2021▼ -58%
Expenses
$196K
FY2021
Total assets
$181K
FY2021
Total liabilities
$111K
FY2021
Total revenue
$79K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$196K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-21K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$117K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$181K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B57%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 36
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 44

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CIndy Convergence INC
EINHdr · item D80-0253483
Principal addressHdr · item CIndianapolis, IN
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.indyconvergence.org
Year of formationHdr · item L2009
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFArts & Culture (A40)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 2009

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a6
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b4
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2Yes

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Artistic Director
$18,791Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Director
$14,135Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Director
$9,000Pt VII · Sec A
Artistic Director
$7,860Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board President
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Robert Negron’s $46K as Producing Artistic Director is at the 40th percentile of top reported officer pay among 2213 $100K–1M arts & culture nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 5 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2024FY2023FY2021
Robert Negron$45,710$9,620$18,175$7,860
Jess Carr$42,723$5,312
Cailitin Negron$21,061
Caitlin Negron$190$12,445$9,000
Jessica Carr$1,200

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Indy Convergence INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $87K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2021.
01

General Programs

Indy convergence provides professional development and tangible support to both artists and community groups in indianapolis to bring artistic projects to life. This falls in line with the organization's pledge to come alongside our neighbors and art partners through people-centered programming and celebrate our work together with our…

$34Kprogram expense
02

Summer Residency

The residency is the organization's flagship program. It welcomes creatives to indianapolis from around the country for two weeks to collaborate, learn, share, and teach with one another across disciplines. This program has been called "transformative", "life changing", and "the most creative, artist experience ever."

$31Kprogram expense
03

A Rising Tide

This program is mobile, non-invasive arts programming along the shores of the white river between 16TH street and new york ST in indianapolis, in. This takes shape as an annual festival featuring performing arts events on two stages.

$22Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$227K · 286%
Program service revenue$29K · 37%
Contributions & grants286%$227K
Program service revenue37%$29K
— government grantsLn 1e$59K
Total revenueLn 12$79K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.57 Management & general $0.43 Fundraising $0.00
Program services57%$112K
Management & general43%$84K
Fundraising$156
Total functional expensesLn 25$196K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$49K
Total assetsLn 16$181K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$111K
Total net assetsLn 32$-21K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $3K · Operating expenses/yr $196K
0.2 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $73K · Total revenue $79K
92%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $6K · Total revenue $79K
8%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $79K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $6K · Total expenses $196K
3%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $79K · Prior year $187K
-58%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $-21K · Beginning of year $34K
-160%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $79K · Expenses $196K
-147%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $111K · Total assets $181K
61%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $-21K · Total assets $181K
-11%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Robert Negron · Reported title ARTISTIC DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $19K · Total expenses $196K
10%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $0 · Total expenses $196K
0%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 57%
Overhead ratio 43%
Fundraising cost ratio 0.07%
Revenue growth -58%
Legal fee ratio 0.5%
Accounting fee ratio 3%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2024
South Arts INCFY2024$122K
Total grants receivedfrom 5 funders$266K
See all 5 funders →
Grants paid · 1 grant · $45K · 2021–2021
Unitemized GrantFY2021$44,505

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Indy Convergence INC →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024$188K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$188K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022not on file
FY2021$79K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$187K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.