Horse Empowered Learning Programs INC EIN 74-2438629

Horse Empowered Learning Programs INC FY2022 filing

EIN  74-2438629 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Pflugerville, TX
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Horse Empowered Learning Programs INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Helps people with challenges gain strength and independence through personalized horse activities.
Leadership
Stephanie Powell · Executive Director · $57K
Money in and out
$127K revenue
Bottom line
10.2mo operating runway

Helps people with challenges gain strength and independence through personalized horse activities. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $127K in revenue, in expenses, and $152K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2022
Total revenue
$127K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$152K
Pt X · Ln 32
Operating runway
10.2mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
-27%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
62%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$127K
FY2022▼ -16%
Expenses
FY2022
Total assets
FY2022
Total liabilities
$5K
FY2022
Total revenue
$127K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$152K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $141K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2021.
01

Therapeutic Riding Program

Which benefited 15 clients with 202 days of care and 181 completed sessions. (3,500 hours of volunteer service) equine assisted learning - which benefited 2 clients with 20 days of care and 20 completed sessions. Scholarships - which benefited 4 clients with the riding program and the assisted learning program.

$141Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHorse Empowered Learning Programs INC
EINHdr · item D74-2438629
Principal addressHdr · item CPflugerville, TX
WebsiteHdr · item Jhelpcenterofaustin.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTX
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 1987

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$56,512Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Stephanie Powell$59,025$61,443$61,561$56,512$49,369
Stephanie Powell$33,846

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Horse Empowered Learning Programs INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$127K
Total revenueLn 12$127K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$5K
Total net assetsLn 32$152K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $138K · Operating expenses/yr $162K
10.2 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $78K · Total revenue $127K
62%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $23K · Total revenue $127K
18%
Investment reliance
Investment income $1K · Total revenue $127K
+1%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $23K · Total expenses $162K
14%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $127K · Prior year $152K
-16%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $152K · Beginning of year $187K
-19%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $127K · Expenses $162K
-27%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $5K · Total assets $158K
3%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $152K · Total assets $158K
97%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Stephanie Powell · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $57K · Total expenses $162K
35%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $75K · Total expenses $162K
46%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -16%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 2 funders$29K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Horse Empowered Learning Programs INC →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$121K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$163K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$125K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$127K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$152K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$70K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.