IRS revoked this organization's tax-exempt status on May 15, 2026

C T E C U FY2020 filing

Claim it free, then get the verified mark Claim this org →
EIN 74-1199174 Unknown exempt organization Houston, TX
Form 990 (PDF)

Is this your organization? Claim it free

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2022
Revenue
$734K
FY2020
Expenses
$674K
FY2020

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2020 (IRS tax year 2020).


Provides members excellent service, competitive rates, and financial education through loan promotions and investment returns. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $734K in revenue, $674K in expenses, and $5.1M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Unknown exempt organization · Nonprofit
Location
Houston, TX
Website
www.ctecu.org
Filings
3 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$734KFY2020
Expenses
$674K
Net assets
$5.1M
People
10
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2022) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until C T E C U claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Provides members excellent service, competitive rates, and financial education through loan promotions and investment returns.
Leadership
Jocelyn Kapalski · President/CEO · $136K
Money in and out
$734K revenue, $674K expenses
Bottom line
+8% surplus margin
Reported financial activity · FY2020
Total revenue
$734K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$674K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$5.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $60K
Surplus margin
+8%
revenue over expenses, this year

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like C T E C U →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990
Total assets
$27.0M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$21.9M
FY2020
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$60K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$27.0M
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 39
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 48

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CC T E C U
EINHdr · item D74-1199174
Principal addressHdr · item CHouston, TX
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.ctecu.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTX
Exempt statusHdr · item IRevoked
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a9
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b8
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President/CEO
$136,261Pt VII · Sec A
Chairman of Board
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Chairman of Board
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer of Board
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2022FY2021FY2020
Jocelyn Kapalski$151,630$147,098$136,261

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See C T E C U executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $63K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

CTECU provides low-rate vehicle loans for members. CTECU also provides low-cost Credit Card loans to assist with prudent financial behavior and planning. CTECU provides low-rate Consumer loans for Recreational Vehicles as well as for Boats, Boat motors, and Boat trailers and Motorcycles.

$39Kprogram expense
02

CTECU provides competitive rates on deposit accounts, promoting thrift among its membership of over 1600 members and promoting prudent financial behavior and planning. CTECU provides Savings accounts, Money Market accounts, IRA accounts, and Share draft-checking accounts as well as Certificates of Deposit (CDs).

$24Kprogram expense
03

CTECU provides Home Mortgage loans for the key purchase that most American families make, their home. The Home Mortgages and Refinanced Home loans are at low-competitive market interest rates. CTECU provides low-cost 5-year Home Equity loans. Home Mortgage loans and Home Equity loans for 2020 resulted in 5 loans totaling $1,164,572.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue$273K · 37%
Investment income$267K · 36%
Other revenue$193K · 26%
Program service revenue37%$273K
Investment income36%$267K
Other revenue26%$193K
Total revenueLn 12$734K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$173K
Total assetsLn 16$27.0M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$21.9M
Total net assetsLn 32$5.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed3.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $18.9M · Operating expenses/yr $674K
336.1 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $674K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $674K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $674K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $734K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $734K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $273K · Total revenue $734K
37%
Investment reliance
Investment income $267K · Total revenue $734K
+36%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $273K · Total expenses $674K
41%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $734K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $5.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $734K · Expenses $674K
+8%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $27.0M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $5.1M · Total assets $27.0M
19%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $18.7M · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $27.0M
69%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Jocelyn Kapalski · Reported title President/CEO · Highest reported compensation $136K · Total expenses $674K
20%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $339K · Total expenses $674K
50%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Investment management fee ratio 0.08%——
Legal fee ratio 0.08%——
Accounting fee ratio 2%——
Fundraising fee ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2022 (Latest)$453K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$651K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$734K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.