Funk Educational Foundation FY2023 filing

Claim it free, then get the verified mark Claim this org ↓
EIN 73-1488498 Private foundation / grantmaker Piedmont, OK NTEE B82
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$176K
FY2023▲ +274%
Expenses
$280K
FY2023▲ +286%

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2023 (IRS tax year 2023).


A private foundation based in Piedmont, OK. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $176K in revenue, $280K in expenses, and $537K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Education
Location
Piedmont, OK
Filings
5 on file (2020–2023)
Revenue
$176KFY2023
Expenses
$280K
Net assets
$537K
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Funk Educational Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Piedmont, OK.
Money in and out
$176K revenue, $280K expenses
Bottom line
—

What Funders Ask

6 questions, answered from this org's own filings

Will my donation be tax-deductible?

GOOD

Yes — A charitable, religious, educational, scientific, or literary organization. Contributions are generally tax-deductible for donors.

IRS Business Master File records this organization as tax-exempt with deductible contributions. See detail →

Can I donate to this org right now?

GOOD

No revocation on IRS record

This EIN does not appear on the IRS auto-revocation list. See detail →

Is this organization up to date?

GOOD

Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)

Most recent Form 990 on file is for fiscal year 2024 (2 years ago). See detail →

Is it receiving grants from reputable foundations?

NEUTRAL

No foundation grants on file

No Schedule I/Schedule R grants from other foundations are on file for this EIN. See detail →

How is the money spent?

NEUTRAL

Not on file

Program vs. overhead split is not on file for this EIN's most recent filing. See detail →

What's its financial size and trend?

NEUTRAL

$100K–1M · ↑ +274% vs prior year

Revenue band $100K–1M, +274% versus the prior filing year (up). See detail →

Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$176K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$280K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$537K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$104K
Total assets
541K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
86K
in FY2023
Grants made
8grants
total in period
Payout rate
16%
of assets (5% rule)

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Funk Educational Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 8 grants · $183K · 2024–2024
Clara WhitmanFY2024$85,000
Karsen YoungFY2024$55,000
McCray WhitmanFY2024$25,000
Madison AntwineFY2024$6,000
Tobias JohnsonFY2024$4,000
Lauren YowellFY2024$4,000
Hayden DuncanFY2024$2,000
Titus JohnsonFY2024$2,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$23K
Median grantPart XV$6K
Largest grantPart XV$85K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$541K
FY2023▼ -16%
Total liabilities
$4K
FY2023▼ -60%
Total assetsPt II$541K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CFunk Educational Foundation
EINHdr · item D73-1488498
Principal addressHdr · item CPiedmont, OK
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOK
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B82)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1997

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Funk Educational Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$176K
Total revenueLn 12$176K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.31 Operating & administrative $0.69
Grants & contributions paid31%$86K
Operating & administrative69%$194K
Total functional expensesLn 25$280K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$16K
Total assetsLn 16$541K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$4K
Total net assetsLn 32$537K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $541K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $176K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $176K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $176K · Prior year $47K
+274%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $537K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $176K · Expenses $280K
-59%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $541K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $537K · Total assets $541K
99%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $280K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 274%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$465K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$176K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$47K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$693K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$95K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.