Wayside Foundation EIN 72-6241623 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Wayside Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Signal Mountain, TN. It reported about $45K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $45K in revenue, $58K in expenses, and $118K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Signal Mountain, TN
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$45KFY2025
Expenses
$58K
Net assets
$118K
People
4
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  72-6241623 Private foundation / grantmaker Signal Mountain, TN
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Wayside Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Signal Mountain, TN. It reported about $45K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
G Robert Edwards · Trustee
Money in and out
$45K revenue, $58K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$45K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$58K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$118K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$13K
Total assets
118K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
57K
in FY2025
Grants made
17grants
total in period
Payout rate
48%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 17 grants · $57K · 2025–2025
Child Evangelism Fellowship of Greater ChattanoogaFY2025$21,000
Richmont UniversityFY2025$16,000
Bethel Bible VillageFY2025$3,500
Bible in the SchoolsFY2025$2,350
Clear Creek Church of ChristFY2025$2,000
First Presbyterian ChurchFY2025$1,500
The Winning WalkFY2025$1,000
Pathway to VictoryFY2025$1,000
Monarch Thrift ShopFY2025$1,000
Master Media InternationalFY2025$1,000
Life Spring Community HealthFY2025$1,000
Kingdom ConnectionFY2025$1,000
Grace School of TheologyFY2025$1,000
Chattanooga Room in the InnFY2025$1,000
Blazing Hope RanchFY2025$1,000
Adult & Teen ChallengeFY2025$1,000
Lupton Drive Baptist ChurchFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$21K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$45K
FY2025▼ -47%
Expenses
$58K
FY2025▲ +7%
Total assets
$118K
FY2025▼ -3%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$45K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$58K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$118K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$118K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CWayside Foundation
EINHdr · item D72-6241623
Principal addressHdr · item CSignal Mountain, TN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2006

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice-Chairman
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Settlor/Chairman
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Wayside Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$37K · 83%
Investment income$8K · 17%
Contributions & grants83%$37K
Investment income17%$8K
Total revenueLn 12$45K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.98 Operating & administrative $0.02
Grants & contributions paid98%$57K
Operating & administrative2%$914
Total functional expensesLn 25$58K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$4K
Total assetsLn 16$118K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$118K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $118K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $45K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $45K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $45K · Prior year $86K
-47%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $42K · FY2025 $45K
+1%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $118K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $45K · Expenses $58K
-28%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $118K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $118K · Total assets $118K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual G Robert Edwards · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $58K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -47%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$45K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$86K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$37K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$47K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$65K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$42K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.