Chaparral Foundation EIN 72-1473570 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Chaparral Foundation FY2022 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Shreveport, LA. It reported about $148K in revenue for 2022. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $148K in revenue, $686K in expenses, and $2.3M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Mutual/Membership
Location
Shreveport, LA
Filings
5 on file (2020–2022)
Revenue
$148KFY2022
Expenses
$686K
Net assets
$2.3M
People
2
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  72-1473570 Private foundation / grantmaker Shreveport, LA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Chaparral Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Shreveport, LA. It reported about $148K in revenue for 2022.
Leadership
Dewey W Corley · Trustee · $30K
Money in and out
$148K revenue, $686K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2022
Total revenue
$148K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$686K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$538K
Total assets
2.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
615K
in FY2022
Grants made
19grants
total in period
Payout rate
27%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 19 grants · $82K · 2024–2024
Tulane University Law SchoolFY2024$30,000
The Arc Caddo-BossierLA · FY2024$10,000
Focusing Philanthropy INCCA · FY2024$10,000
First Baptist Church SchoolFY2024$10,000
Positive CircleTX · FY2024$5,000
St Vincent De Paul SchoolFY2024$3,600
St Mark's Episcopal CathedralFY2024$2,700
Ronald McDonald House CharitiesFY2024$2,500
LSU Health Sciences FoundationFY2024$2,500
The Community FoundationFY2024$1,500
Volunteers of America North LouisianaFY2024$1,000
MD Anderson Cancer CenterFY2024$1,000
Flyer Alumni AssociationFY2024$1,000
Fleet Park Little League INCFY2024$500
First Presbyterian Church of ShreveportFY2024$200
St Joseph's Catholic ChurchFY2024$100
Huntsman Cancer InstituteFY2024$100
First United Methodist ChurchFY2024$100
See all 19 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV4
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$30K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (11%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$148K
FY2022▼ -72%
Expenses
$686K
FY2022▲ +128%
Total assets
$2.3M
FY2022▼ -19%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2022
Total revenue
$148K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$686K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$2.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CChaparral Foundation
EINHdr · item D72-1473570
Principal addressHdr · item CShreveport, LA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MLA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFMutual/Membership (Y12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2000

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2022 filing did not itemize Part VII
$30,000Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2021
Dewey W Corley$40,000$30,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Chaparral Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$140K · 95%
Other revenue$8K · 5%
Investment income95%$140K
Other revenue5%$8K
Total revenueLn 12$148K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.90 Operating & administrative $0.10
Grants & contributions paid90%$615K
Operating & administrative10%$71K
Total functional expensesLn 25$686K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$92K
Total assetsLn 16$2.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$2.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed1.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $2.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $148K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $148K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $148K · Prior year $526K
-72%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $2.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $148K · Expenses $686K
-364%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $2.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $2.3M · Total assets $2.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $686K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -72%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$171K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$116K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$148K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$526K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$266K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.