Younger Foundation EIN 64-0616731 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Younger Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Marks, MS. It reported about $243K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $243K in revenue, $81K in expenses, and $1.4M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Marks, MS
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$243KFY2020
Expenses
$81K
Net assets
$1.4M
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  64-0616731 Private foundation / grantmaker Marks, MS
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Younger Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Marks, MS. It reported about $243K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$243K revenue, $81K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$243K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$81K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $162K
Total assets
1.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
66K
in FY2020
Grants made
35grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 35 grants · $42K · 2024–2024
Marks Presbyterian ChurchMS · FY2024$8,000
Lula Rich Educational FdnFY2024$3,500
Quitman Co Educational FdnFY2024$3,000
First Marks Cemetary AssociationFY2024$2,500
St Jude Childrens Reearch HospFY2024$2,000
Care StationFY2024$2,000
Teach for America INCNY · FY2024$1,500
Methodist Flowers ManorFY2024$1,500
Lebonheur Childrens HospitalFY2024$1,500
Wounded Warrior Project INCFL · FY2024$1,000
Univ of Ms MuseumFY2024$1,000
Salvation ArmyFY2024$1,000
MD Anderson in Honor of Jason GraebFY2024$1,000
Graham Carson Memorial Sch FdFY2024$1,000
French Camp AcademyMS · FY2024$1,000
Univ of Ms (ford Ctr for PerformingFY2024$500
The Nature ConservancyVA · FY2024$500
See all 35 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV12
Average grantPart XV$1K
Median grantPart XV$500
Largest grantPart XV$8K
Top cause focusNTEEColleges & Universities (11%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$243K
FY2020
Expenses
$81K
FY2020
Total assets
$1.4M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$243K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$81K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CYounger Foundation
EINHdr · item D64-0616731
Principal addressHdr · item CMarks, MS
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMS
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 1978

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Younger Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$238K · 98%
Contributions & grants$5K · 2%
Investment income98%$238K
Contributions & grants2%$5K
Other revenue$141
Total revenueLn 12$243K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.82 Operating & administrative $0.18
Grants & contributions paid82%$66K
Operating & administrative18%$14K
Total functional expensesLn 25$81K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$47K
Total assetsLn 16$1.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.4M
Months of cash on handcomputed6.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $243K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $243K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $243K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.4M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $243K · Expenses $81K
+67%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.4M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.4M · Total assets $1.4M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $81K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$88K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$46K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$47K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$129K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$243K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.