Berman Charitable Foundation INC EIN 63-1229394

Berman Charitable Foundation INC

EIN  63-1229394 Private foundation / grantmaker Vestavia Hills, AL
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Berman Charitable Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Vestavia Hills, AL. It reported about $304K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Deanne H Robinson · Vp-Exec-Dir · $42K
Money in and out
$304K revenue, $351K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Vestavia Hills, AL. It reported about $304K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $304K in revenue, $351K in expenses, and $4.0M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$304K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$351K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$48K
Total assets
4.0M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
208K
in FY2025
Grants made
27grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 27 grants · $208K · 2025–2025
Bibb County DhrFY2025$18,000
Hale County DhrFY2025$15,000
Casa of the Cheaha RegionFY2025$15,000
Arc of Calhoun CountyFY2025$15,000
Perry County DhrFY2025$12,000
The YMCA of Calhoun CountyFY2025$10,000
Big Brothers Big SistersFY2025$10,000
Promise 686FY2025$10,000
West End Community ChurchFY2025$10,000
Interfaith MinistiresFY2025$10,000
Community Enabler DeveloperFY2025$8,000
The WellhouseFY2025$8,000
St Michael's Medical CenterFY2025$7,500
All Saints Interfaith Center of ConFY2025$7,000
AmbucsFY2025$5,000
Childrens of Al HospitalFY2025$5,000
Freedom Farm INCFY2025$5,000
The Right PlaceFY2025$5,000
See all 27 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$8K
Median grantPart XV$7K
Largest grantPart XV$18K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$304K
FY2025▲ +4%
Expenses
$351K
FY2025▲ +13%
Total assets
$4.0M
FY2025▼ -1%
Total liabilities
$1K
FY2025
Total revenue
$304K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$351K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$4.0M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBerman Charitable Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D63-1229394
Principal addressHdr · item CVestavia Hills, AL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MAL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 1999

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$42,362Pt VII · Sec A
$16,254Pt VII · Sec A
$15,090Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 4 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
Deanne H Robinson$42,362$28,980$28,980
Janet Tyson Prosser$16,254$16,254
David Prosser$16,254
Anne H Norred$15,090$15,090$15,090

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Berman Charitable Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$304K
Total revenueLn 12$304K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.59 Operating & administrative $0.41
Grants & contributions paid59%$208K
Operating & administrative41%$144K
Total functional expensesLn 25$351K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$53K
Total assetsLn 16$4.0M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$1K
Total net assetsLn 32$4.0M
Months of cash on handcomputed1.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.0M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $304K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $304K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $304K · Prior year $293K
+4%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $200K · FY2025 $304K
+9%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.0M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $304K · Expenses $351K
-16%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.0M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.0M · Total assets $4.0M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Deanne H Robinson · Reported title VP-EXEC-DIR · Highest reported compensation $42K · Total expenses $351K
12%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 4%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$304K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$293K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$260K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$254K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$408K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$200K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.