Jane E Deline Foundation FY2024 filing

Watertown, NY · Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$237K
-92% vs prior year
Spent
$452K
Net assets
$6.7M
By yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$237K
FY2024▼ -92%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$116K
FY2021$315K
FY2022$470K
FY2023$3.0M
FY2024$237K
FY2025$301K
Expenses
$452K
FY2024▲ +12%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$262K
FY2021$262K
FY2022$280K
FY2023$404K
FY2024$452K
FY2025$498K
Net assets
$6.7M
FY2024▼ -3%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$4.1M
FY2021$4.2M
FY2022$4.3M
FY2023$6.9M
FY2024$6.7M
FY2025$6.5M

From the FY2024 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
Yes — exemption reinstated (2010-05-15)
Per the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CJane E Deline Foundation
EINHdr · item D61-1739748
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 2014
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CWatertown, NY
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T11)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.81 Operating & administrative $0.19
Grants & contributions paid81%$367K
Operating & administrative19%$85K
Total functional expensesLn 25$452K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
6.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
367K
in FY2024
Grants made
18grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$6.7M
FY2024▼ -3%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$4.1M
FY2021$4.2M
FY2022$4.3M
FY2023$6.9M
FY2024$6.7M
FY2025$6.5M
Total liabilities
$10K
FY2024▲ +69%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$2K
FY2021$6K
FY2022$3K
FY2023$6K
FY2024$10K
FY2025$19K
Total assetsPt II$6.7M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$686K
Total assetsLn 16$6.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$10K
Total net assetsLn 32$6.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed18.2

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$235K · 99%
Contributions & grants$2K · 1%
Investment income99%$235K
Contributions & grants1%$2K
Total revenueLn 12$237K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $6.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $237K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $237K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $237K · Prior year $3.0M
-92%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $116K · FY2024 $237K
+20%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $6.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $237K · Expenses $452K
-91%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $6.7M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $6.7M · Total assets $6.7M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual John Wheeler · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $2K · Total expenses $452K
0.5%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -92%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$2,351Pt VII · Sec A
$2,351Pt VII · Sec A
$2,351Pt VII · Sec A
$2,351Pt VII · Sec A
$2,351Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 5 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
John Wheeler$3,008$2,351$1,197
Thomas E Colligan$3,008$2,351$1,197
Richard E Poulsen$3,008$2,351$1,197
William G Hartman$3,008$2,351$1,197
Catherine Burns Quencer$3,008$2,351$1,197

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Jane E Deline Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Watertown, NY.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Jane E Deline Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 18 grants · $403K · 2025–2025
NY Chapel of Salvation ArmyFY2025$50,000
Watertown Family YMCAFY2025$50,000
Disabled Person's Action OrganizationFY2025$44,870
North Country Family HealthFY2025$40,228
Community Action PlanningFY2025$38,000
Thrive Wellness and RecoveryFY2025$30,000
Hospice of JeffersonFY2025$30,000
Arc Jefferson St LawrenceFY2025$25,000
The Resolution Center of Jefferson & Lewis CountiesFY2025$15,000
Aldersgate Camp & Retreat CenterFY2025$15,000
Watertown ChapelFY2025$15,000
Compassionate CareFY2025$15,000
Catholic Charities INCFY2025$10,000
Watertown Urban MissionFY2025$7,560
Samaritan Medical CenterFY2025$7,000
American Red CrossFY2025$5,000
Watertown Senior CenterFY2025$3,600
North Country Prenatal CouncilFY2025$1,440

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$22K
Median grantPart XV$15K
Largest grantPart XV$50K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $301K$498K+27% 990 PDF
FY2024 Viewing $237K$452K-92% 990 PDF
FY2023 $3.0M$404K+531% 990 PDF
FY2022 $470K$280K+49% 990 PDF
FY2021 $315K$262K+173% 990 PDF
FY2020 $116K$262K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Jane E Deline Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.