The Eason Foundation EIN 56-2276733

The Eason Foundation FY2023 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Durham, NC. It reported about $28K in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $28K in revenue, $23K in expenses, and $61K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Durham, NC
Filings
6 on file (2020–2023)
Revenue
$28KFY2023
Expenses
$23K
Net assets
$61K
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  56-2276733 Private foundation / grantmaker Durham, NC
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Eason Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Durham, NC. It reported about $28K in revenue for 2023.
Money in and out
$28K revenue, $23K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$28K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$23K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$61K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $5K
Total assets
61K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
21K
in FY2023
Grants made
4grants
total in period
Payout rate
34%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 4 grants · $38K · 2025–2025
Durham Nativity SchoolFY2025$17,500
Urban Ministries of DurhamFY2025$10,000
Roaring Gap FoundationFY2025$5,000
Aware AffairsFY2025$5,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$9K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$18K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$28K
FY2023▼ -72%
Expenses
$23K
FY2023▼ -70%
Total assets
$61K
FY2023▲ +9%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total revenue
$28K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$23K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$61K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$61K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Eason Foundation
EINHdr · item D56-2276733
Principal addressHdr · item CDurham, NC
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2002

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See The Eason Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$14K · 50%
Investment income$14K · 49%
Contributions & grants$500 · 2%
Other revenue50%$14K
Investment income49%$14K
Contributions & grants2%$500
Total revenueLn 12$28K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.91 Operating & administrative $0.09
Grants & contributions paid91%$21K
Operating & administrative9%$2K
Total functional expensesLn 25$23K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$19K
Total assetsLn 16$61K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$61K
Months of cash on handcomputed10.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $61K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $28K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $28K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $28K · Prior year $98K
-72%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $61K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $28K · Expenses $23K
+17%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $61K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $61K · Total assets $61K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $23K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -72%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$159K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$103K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$28K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$98K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$83K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$89K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.