Heart Sing EIN 54-1783308 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Heart Sing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Chevy Chase, MD. It reported about $326K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $326K in revenue, $289K in expenses, and $3.1M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Chevy Chase, MD
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$326KFY2025
Expenses
$289K
Net assets
$3.1M
People
4
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  54-1783308 Private foundation / grantmaker Chevy Chase, MD
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Heart Sing claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Chevy Chase, MD. It reported about $326K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Lynda Johnson Robb · Officer
Money in and out
$326K revenue, $289K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$326K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$289K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $37K
Total assets
3.1M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
253K
in FY2025
Grants made
109grants
total in period
Payout rate
8%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 109 grants · $253K · 2025–2025
Arlington Food Assistance CenterFY2025$16,000
Reading Is Fundamental of NovaFY2025$15,000
World Central KitchenFY2025$12,500
Ladybird Johnson Wildflower CenterFY2025$10,000
Reading Is FundamentalFY2025$10,000
Austin PBSFY2025$10,000
Doctors Without BorderFY2025$9,000
Network2workFY2025$8,500
MD Anderson Cancer CenterFY2025$7,000
Mayo Clinic Department of DevelopmentFY2025$7,000
Combat Soldiers Recovery FundFY2025$6,000
Cammo Center for American Military Music OpporunitiesFY2025$6,000
Friends of the Lbj National ParkFY2025$5,000
WetaFY2025$5,000
UNICEFFY2025$5,000
Tx State Foundation Jc Kellam ScholarshipFY2025$5,000
Trinity CenterFY2025$5,000
Trail ConservancyFY2025$5,000
See all 109 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$16K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$326K
FY2025▲ +209%
Expenses
$289K
FY2025▲ +12%
Total assets
$3.1M
FY2025▲ +1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$326K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$289K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.1M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHeart Sing
EINHdr · item D54-1783308
Principal addressHdr · item CChevy Chase, MD
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMD
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1995

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Heart Sing executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$326K
Total revenueLn 12$326K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.87 Operating & administrative $0.13
Grants & contributions paid87%$253K
Operating & administrative13%$36K
Total functional expensesLn 25$289K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$152K
Total assetsLn 16$3.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed6.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.1M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $326K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $326K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $326K · Prior year $106K
+209%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $234K · FY2025 $326K
+7%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $326K · Expenses $289K
+11%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.1M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.1M · Total assets $3.1M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Lynda Johnson Robb · Reported title OFFICER · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $289K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 209%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$326K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$106K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$78K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$354K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$456K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$234K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.