Stephen & Barbara Sherwin Foundation INC EIN 52-1655939 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Stephen & Barbara Sherwin Foundation INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Fort Collins, CO. It reported about $25K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $25K in revenue, $25K in expenses, and $312K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$25KFY2025
Expenses
$25K
Net assets
$312K
People
3
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  52-1655939 Private foundation / grantmaker Fort Collins, CO
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Stephen & Barbara Sherwin Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Fort Collins, CO. It reported about $25K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Jeffrey M Sherwin · Dir/PR/Treas
Money in and out
$25K revenue, $25K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$25K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$25K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$312K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$64
Total assets
312K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
23K
in FY2025
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $23K · 2024–2024
North County Food BankOR · FY2024$3,000
Sandra Shappell Teacher at Colorado Early CollegeFY2024$2,500
So Others Might EatFY2024$2,000
Project Say SomethingAL · FY2024$2,000
Utah Food BankUT · FY2024$1,000
Raptors of the RockiesMT · FY2024$1,000
Jeff Fielder ArtistFY2024$1,000
Lyris Hung ArtistFY2024$1,000
Colorado Public RadioFY2024$1,000
Rocio Barragan ArtistFY2024$1,000
Long Island UniversityNY · FY2024$100

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV9
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$3K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (13%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$25K
FY2025▼ -15%
Expenses
$25K
FY2025▲ +4%
Total assets
$312K
FY2025>-0.01%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$25K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$25K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$312K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$312K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CStephen & Barbara Sherwin Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D52-1655939
Principal addressHdr · item CFort Collins, CO
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCO
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1991

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
Dir/PR/Treas
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Stephen & Barbara Sherwin Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$25K · 98%
Other revenue$384 · 2%
Investment income98%$25K
Other revenue2%$384
Total revenueLn 12$25K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.89 Operating & administrative $0.11
Grants & contributions paid89%$23K
Operating & administrative11%$3K
Total functional expensesLn 25$25K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$73K
Total assetsLn 16$312K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$312K
Months of cash on handcomputed34.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $312K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $25K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $25K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $25K · Prior year $30K
-15%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $312K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $25K · Expenses $25K
-0.3%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $312K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $312K · Total assets $312K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Jeffrey M Sherwin · Reported title DIR/PR/TREAS · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $25K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -15%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$25K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$30K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$23K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$90K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$272K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$23K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.