Sharp Foundation EIN 51-6015093

Sharp Foundation FY2024 filing

EIN  51-6015093 Private foundation / grantmaker Wilmington, DE
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Sharp Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $201K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
H Rodney Sharp III · President, Trustee
Money in and out
$201K revenue, $198K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $201K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $201K in revenue, $198K in expenses, and $3.3M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$201K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$198K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $4K
Total assets
3.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
161K
in FY2024
Grants made
61grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 61 grants · $145K · 2025–2025
Historic Odessa FoundationDE · FY2025$15,000
The Island SchoolFY2025$10,000
Friends of Boca GrandeFY2025$10,000
St Georges SchoolFY2025$8,500
Tower HillFY2025$5,250
The Voyage FoundationFY2025$5,000
Synergy HousesFY2025$5,000
Caring Hearts for CaninesNC · FY2025$3,500
Delaware Wild Lands INC 350DE · FY2025$2,250
KvfdFY2025$2,000
Historical Society of Boca GrandeFY2025$2,000
See all 61 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV32
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$15K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (10%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$201K
FY2024▼ -80%
Expenses
$198K
FY2024▼ -68%
Total assets
$3.3M
FY20240%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$201K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$198K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSharp Foundation
EINHdr · item D51-6015093
Principal addressHdr · item CWilmington, DE
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDE
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 1949

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2024 filing did not itemize Part VII
President, Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President, Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer, Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Sharp Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$201K
Total revenueLn 12$201K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.81 Operating & administrative $0.19
Grants & contributions paid81%$161K
Operating & administrative19%$37K
Total functional expensesLn 25$198K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$357K
Total assetsLn 16$3.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed21.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $201K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $201K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $201K · Prior year $1.0M
-80%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $48K · FY2024 $201K
+43%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $201K · Expenses $198K
+2%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.3M · Total assets $3.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $198K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -80%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$305K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$201K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$855K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$48K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.