Mitchell D Phaiah Foundation INC EIN 47-3978418

Mitchell D Phaiah Foundation INC

EIN  47-3978418 Private foundation / grantmaker Putnam, CT
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Mitchell D Phaiah Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Putnam, CT. It reported about $158K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Michael Cristina · Director · $12K
Money in and out
$158K revenue, $213K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Putnam, CT. It reported about $158K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $158K in revenue, $213K in expenses, and $3.1M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$158K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$213K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$55K
Total assets
3.1M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
171K
in FY2024
Grants made
40grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 40 grants · $171K · 2024–2024
Jolly Johns Keep You Trucking FundFY2024$20,000
Chapel and York US FoundationFY2024$11,011
Daily Bread Food PantryFY2024$7,108
Community Kitchens of Ne CtFY2024$7,096
Project Pin Food PantryFY2024$7,072
Pams Foundation INCCA · FY2024$6,144
Snip Pet PalsFY2024$6,132
TeegFY2024$6,060
Quinebaug Valley Senior CtrFY2024$6,048
Ct Humane SocietyFY2024$6,036
Lions Guardian USFY2024$6,024
Kopelion INCNY · FY2024$6,002
Novastar Rescue INCAR · FY2024$6,000
See all 40 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV11
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$20K
Top cause focusNTEEAnimals (5%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$158K
FY2024▲ +8%
Expenses
$213K
FY2024▼ -4%
Total assets
$3.1M
FY2024▼ -1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$158K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$213K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.1M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMitchell D Phaiah Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D47-3978418
Principal addressHdr · item CPutnam, CT
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCT
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2017

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$12,000Pt VII · Sec A
$12,000Pt VII · Sec A
$12,000Pt VII · Sec A
$600Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$600Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 6 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023
Michael Cristina$12,000$12,000
Beverly Cristina$12,000$12,000
Stephen M Phaih$12,000
Stephen M Phaiah$12,000
Michelle Phaiah$600$600
Irwin Kalmer$600$600

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Mitchell D Phaiah Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$135K · 86%
Investment income$23K · 14%
Other revenue86%$135K
Investment income14%$23K
Total revenueLn 12$158K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.80 Operating & administrative $0.20
Grants & contributions paid80%$171K
Operating & administrative20%$42K
Total functional expensesLn 25$213K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$386K
Total assetsLn 16$3.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed21.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.1M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $158K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $158K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $158K · Prior year $146K
+8%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $160K · FY2024 $158K
0%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $158K · Expenses $213K
-35%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.1M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.1M · Total assets $3.1M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Michael Cristina · Reported title DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $12K · Total expenses $213K
6%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 8%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$158K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$146K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$148K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$152K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$160K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.