Howard Brain Sciences Foundation EIN 46-5727582

Howard Brain Sciences Foundation

EIN  46-5727582 Public foundation / grantmaker Washington, DC
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Howard Brain Sciences Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
Advance brain understanding and neurological condition treatment through innovative research.
Leadership
Newton Howard · Chairman
Money in and out
$39K revenue
Bottom line
+10% surplus margin

Advance brain understanding and neurological condition treatment through innovative research. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $39K in revenue, in expenses, and $-40K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2022
Total revenue
$39K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-40K
Pt X · Ln 32
Surplus margin
+10%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -25% vs prior filing year
Donor-funded
96%
of revenue is gifts & grants▲ +8% vs prior filing year
Goes to people
0%
of spending is salaries & benefits▼ -99% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$39K
FY2022▼ -56%
Total revenue
$39K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-40K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

2 program services account for $184K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

Georgetown Sponsored Grant

The foundation has awarded Georgetown University the grant award entitled "Improving Tomorrow's Healthcare" a program dedicated to improving research to advance our understanding of the brain and mind to develop novel solutions for detection and treatment of neurological disorders.

$184Kprogram expense
02

The fellowship program highlights and awards individuals who are making advancements in their fields, and whose work relates to advancing our understanding of the brain.

$444program expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHoward Brain Sciences Foundation
EINHdr · item D46-5727582
Principal addressHdr · item CWashington, DC
WebsiteHdr · item Jbrainsciences.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T30)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2015

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Chairman
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Dir.
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Rebecca Howard’s $50 as Executive Dir. is at the 2nd percentile of top reported officer pay among 129 <$100K philanthropy & grantmaking nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

See Howard Brain Sciences Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$39K
Total revenueLn 12$39K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$40K
Total net assetsLn 32$-40K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves — · Operating expenses/yr $35K
Highly liquid reserves (cash & marketable securities on Pt X) ÷ monthly operating expenses (Pt IX total, less non-cash grants & depreciation when reported).
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $37K · Total revenue $39K
96%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $39K
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $39K
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $35K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $39K · Prior year $88K
-56%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $-40K · Beginning of year $-44K
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $39K · Expenses $35K
+10%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $40K · Total assets $630
×65
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $-40K · Total assets $630
-6291%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Newton Howard · Reported title Chairman · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $35K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $78 · Total expenses $35K
0%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -56%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2021
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$27K
Grants paid · 1 grant · $184K · 2020–2020
Georgetown UniversityDC · FY2020$184,365

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2022 (Latest)$39K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$88K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$272K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.